Learning Resources Division: Finding Articles Help Guide: Newspaper Articles

Introduction to Newspaper Articles

Newspaper articles can provide the latest information or opinions on your research topic, or how the media described historical events as they happened. They may also present different perspectives for you to consider in your research.

Newspapers and Newswires

Newspapers and newswires report information via research, interviews, surveys, speeches, etc. They can provide the latest information on what people are thinking about your topic. Reading different newspapers may provide different perspectives for you to consider in your research.

Newspapers and newswires are available in the following databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Newsbank Access World News provides a combination of global, regional, and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (PDF image editions, web-only, full-text), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
In the modern news world, newswires are the chief source of timely news and, with increasing pressures on the traditional news industry, newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format

Newspapers at Other Libraries

DC Public Library
The DC Public Library—where UDC students, faculty, and staff are eligible to get library cards—has current subscriptions and microfilm holdings of historical issues for newspapers, magazines and journals that focus on Washington, D.C., as well as African-American magazines, journals and out-of-state local newspapers. Sign up for a temporary library card online to get immediate access to DCPL’s database resources, and then visit a library branch within 30 days to get your permanent card.
Library of Congress Newspaper and Periodical Reading Room
The Serial & Government Publications Division maintains one of the most extensive newspaper collections in the world. It is exceptionally strong in US newspapers, with 9,000 titles covering the past three centuries. With over 25,000 non-US titles, it is the largest collection of overseas newspapers in the world. Beyond its newspaper holdings, the Division also has extensive collections of current periodicals (70,000 titles) comic books (over 7,000 titles) and government publications (1 million items).

Finding Articles Help Guide

Introduction to Newspaper Articles

Newspapers and Newswires

Newspapers at Other Libraries

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120