Cell phones are permitted in the library but may not be used to make phone calls. Please make sure your phone is on silent when you are in the library.
If you need to talk on your phone, please do so near the elevators outside of the library.
Snack foods and non-alcoholic beverages are permitted in the library as long as you are not using a computer workstation. Please dispose of all trash and recycling in the provided bins.
All beverages must be in lidded containers.
The library's food and drink policy can be read in full on our FAQ Page.
Library circulating collections are available to all UDC students, faculty, alumni association members, retirees, and staff. Students and faculty of Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC) member institutions may use UDC’s facilities and borrow circulating materials.
Items may be checked out for:
There are NO fines for general collection books that are less than 40 days overdue.
Fines on course reserves materials are based on the time at which the item is due. A fine is charged at the rate of $0.60 per hour, or fraction thereof, for each item that is overdue. The maximum fine will not exceed $25.00.
For media materials (DVDs, etc.), a fine of $5.00 is assessed for each day that the item is overdue. The maximum fine will not exceed $25.00 for each item.
The full fines policy and information on how to pay fines are available here
The UDC Library's Collection Development Policy outlines the selection and maintenance policies for the Library's collection.
The University of the District of Columbia Library may accept gifts of books and other research materials that would enhance the collection. The University Library retains the right to accept or decline all potential gifts. For manuscripts, music, audiovisuals, and other archival resources, please contact the Special Collections/Archives or the Jazz Archives.
Before donating material to the UDC Library, please read our full policy. For questions or more information, please contact us at ask@udc.libanswers.com
