Skip to Main Content

About Us

Locations

The library is a part of the Learning Resources Division with locations at Van Ness and Lamond-Riggs.

Both locations provide the following services to students:

  • Access to research and library materials
  • Access to Washington Research Libraries Consortium materials
  • A place to study
  • Computers, printers, scanners, and photocopiers
  • Help with research assignments and using the materials in the library

Van Ness Campus -  Building 71, 6th floor

Lamond-Riggs Campus (formerly Bertie Backus Campus) - CURRENTLY CLOSED - Anticipated Opening Fall 2023

‚Äč

UDC Law Library

The David A. Clarke School of Law, located in Building 52 on the Van Ness campus maintains its own library, The Mason Law Library. Many of their resources can only be used by students and faculty of the law school and the library is closed to all non-UDC law students during reading and finals weeks.

 

UDC Archives

The Van Ness location houses the University Archives. Access to the Archives is available by appointment only. You can schedule an appointment by emailing Chris Anglim, Archivist, at canglim@udc.edu.

 

Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives

Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives

The Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives at the University of the District of Columbia was established as a research and resource center for the study, preservation, and continued development of one of America’s greatest original cultural treasures—JAZZ. 

The recordings, books, and archival collections of the Felix E. Grant Archives are non-circulating. They may be consulted on-site during the Archives’ hours of operation according to the Guidelines for Access to the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives. The Archives provides reference services to academic researchers via its World Wide Web site, as well as via electronic and standard mail and telephone.

Research requests and questions about collections and policies should be addressed to:

Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives
University of the District of Columbia
4200 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20008
Tel: 202-274-5265

E-mail: jazzarchives@wrlc.org

Digital Repository

The Learning Resource Division's digital repository encompasses materials in various formats from the UDC university archives, the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, and other components of the university.

The repository includes over 1,000 photos, books, and audio from these collections which you can both search and browse. 

Sepia toned photo of Ella Fitzgerald and her orchestra during a performance.

Ella Fitzgerald sings and Eddie Barefield plays the clarinet in front of orchestra. Letterpress text beneath image: "ELLA FITZGERALD / And Her Famous Orchestra - PERSONAL MANAGEMENT / GALE AGENCY, INC. / 48 WEST 48th STREET / NEW YORK CITY" (See photograph in the repository)

Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC)

WRLC Logo - nine interlocking white squares on a blue background with text WRLCUDC belongs to the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC).

The nine member libraries share circulating materials with each other and have a common library catalog.

You can use the catalog to look for materials in all of the libraries' collections at one time, or you can limit your search to any one of the libraries.

You may also use any member library in-person. Access to these locations requires a UDC OneCard.