You can use databases provided by the library to find articles, media, e-books, and other information. While some databases are general and cover a wide range of topics, others are narrowly organized around a particular subject or academic area.
You can see the full list of the library's databases here:
Comprehensive alphabetical list of subscription and free databases and collections, searchable by subject, vendor, and resource type.
All of the databases can be used off-campus by logging in with your UDC email and password.
The UDC Library's YouTube channel offers many short video tutorials on a variety of topics, including how to use the library, how to select and search a database, and how to cite your sources:
We have created several Help Guides to help you navigate using library and information resources and tools. These guides are designed to walk you through finding what you need while offering tips, tricks, and other useful information.
Many people begin researching a new topic using the Wikipedia. Because anyone can edit a Wikipedia page it makes it very hard to know if the information contained in them is accurate. Because of this, Wikipedia is NEVER an appropriate source to cite in your assignments.
Instead, try beginning your search with this source, which performs similarly but contains information from reliable sources. It also links you to other library resources that you can use.
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Some academic disciplines and research topics require you to look for information available on the web. While there is a lot of good information available through Google and other websites, you should always evaluate the information you find to make sure that it accurate, relevant, and appropriate for your needs.
You can learn more about why and how you should evaluate information in our Evaluating Sources Help Guide.
