Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide presents recommended resources on business law and business ethics for BLAW 214: Legal Environment of Business.
Below is a short list of journals that cover the area of business law and ethics. If there is an article you are interested in that is not freely available through UDC library resources, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. If you have questions on how to do this, contact a librarian.
Recommended Web Resources
UDC belongs to the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC).
The nine member libraries share circulating materials with each other and have a common library catalog.
You can use the catalog to look for materials in all of the libraries' collections at one time, or you can limit your search to any one of the libraries.
The "Search Everything" feature of UDC Search includes all print resources held by the libraries of the nine WRLC institutions as well as the electronic resources available to UDC students, faculty, and staff.
Related Research Guides
The following UDC Library research guides are related to business law and ethics and may provide additional useful information.
Do you see something missing from this guide? Let us know!
The library is always open to adding missing content to our guides. We are happy to add new links, information, and resources you may be aware of. Please email us at email@example.com to share any links or information you would like to see us include.
We have created several Help Guides to help you navigate using library and information resources and tools. These guides are designed to walk you through finding what you need while offering tips, tricks, and other useful information.
You can see a full list of our subject guides in our Index of Research Guides.
ABI/INFORM is a business research database with full-text articles from business journals and newspapers.
Business Market Research Collection
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Business Source Elite
Full text of business, management and economics journal literature, plus rich non-journal materials such as financial reports, etc. From 1985 to present.
Guide to Law Online
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
This database is an ever-expanding, comprehensive, image-based collection of legal periodicals, federal and state codes, topical collections and historical materials. Articles are in pdf format.
Behavioral Business Ethics by
Call Number: HF 5387.B427
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
This book takes a look at how and why individuals display unethical behavior. Drawing from work on psychology, it emphasizes the actual behavior of individuals rather than the specific business practices.
Business Ethics as Practice: Ethics as the Everyday Business of Business by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2009-09-22
In this book, the author urges readers to take business ethics seriously by reconsidering the role of ethics management within organizations. She redefines the typical seven-step ethics management program from within - challenging the reader to reconsider what is possible within each aspect of this process. In doing so, she draws on the insights of Aristotle, Nietzsche, Heidegger, Foucault and numerous contemporary organizational theorists and sociologists to create the space for the emergence of a morally responsive corporate ethos.
Contract Law: Rules, Theory, & Context by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-10-15
This book offers an accessible introduction to all aspects of American contract law. It is grounded on up-to-date scholarship and contains detailed references to cases, statutes, restatements and international legal principles. The book takes the reader from contract formation through interpretation and remedies, considering both the practical and theoretical aspects throughout. Each chapter also includes helpful lists of suggested further reading.
Corporate Integrity by
Call Number: HD60 .B766 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-21
What do corporations look like when they have integrity, and how can we move more companies in that direction? This book offers a comprehensive framework - and practical business lessons - bringing together questions of organizational design, communication practices, working relationships, and leadership styles to answer this question. The author explores the five key challenges facing modern businesses as they try to respond ethically to cultural, interpersonal, organizational, civic and environmental challenges. He demonstrates that if corporations are to meet the needs of civil society, they must facilitate inclusive communication patterns based on mutual recognition and civic cooperation.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society by
Call Number: Reference HF5387 .E53 2008
Publication Date: 2007-10-19
The five volumes of this ultimate resource recognize the inherent unity between business ethics and business and society, that stems from their shared primary concern with value in commerce. This encyclopedia spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including more than 800 entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
Ethics at Work: Creating Virtue in an American Corporation by
Call Number: HF5387.5.U6 T47 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-19
The author spent two years researching Lockheed Martin materials and interviewing its ethics officers and ordinary employees to develop this rich case study of the ethics program at this powerful global corporation. This study begins with a survey of American attitudes toward ethics in business over the past century, raising the question of whether ethics can be genuinely built into the modern mega-corporation. He then develops a portrait of Lockheed Martin--its history and the nature of its far-flung businesses--turning at last to its ethics program, which was created following a series of bribery, overcharging, and corruption scandals in the 1970s and 1980s. Although Terris applauds Lockheed Martin's ethics program as "gloriously democratic" in its focus on the responsibility of every worker for the ethical dimensions of his or her actions, he is concerned that the broad-based focus tends to divert attention from the ethical responsibilities of senior management and the moral complexities of collective decision-making. While he admires the ambitious scope of the program, he notes that the corporation's definition of "ethics" focuses on individual behavior rather than on the impact of the corporation's broader policies on local, national, and global communities. The ultimate effect of such programs may be to create more ethical business practices--but, ironically, at the expense of the public good.
The Legal and Regulatory Environment of Business by
Call Number: Community College Reserve KF1600 .C6 2019
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
This book brings a fresh perspective emphasizing the importance of understanding laws and regulations that are fundamental foundations for business. Using court cases and examples in Sidebars that are relevant for business, the authors underscore how learning about the law is essential to understand how the law can be used for strategic advantage and how to develop sustainable business practices.
Browse the Stacks
If you want to browse the stacks for books related to business communications, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.
HD 28-70 - Management, Industrial Management
HF 5387-5387.5 - Business Ethics
K 801-899 - Business/Commercial Law
K 1000-1395 - Commercial Law
When you search for articles, books, and other information, you need to use keywords. Below is a list of some keywords or categories of keywords that could be used in the library databases. You can use them on their own, or mix and match them to narrow your results.
- Business Enterprises -- Law and Legislation
- Business Ethics
- Commercial Law -- United States
- Corporate Law -- United States
- Small Business -- Law and Legislation