Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accounting is the systematic recording, reporting and analysis of financial transactions of an organization (both profit and nonprofit) . An Accountant is a person who performs accounting functions. Accountants must comply with set of rules and regulations, including the Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP). Accounting enables an organization to analyze its financial performance and determine whether it has made a net profit or loss. This guide provides access to resources relevant to topics in accounting. Use the tabs above to navigate and locate a large variety of helpful resources.
Recommended Web Resources
Accounting Control Best Practices by Accounting Control Best Practices, Second Edition Control systems are needed to ensure that a company's assets are used in the most productive manner and that they are not lost through fraudulent activities. However, an excessive use of controls can interfere with the efficient completion of activities within a company. Whether your company is in start-up mode, installing new systems, or simply dissatisfied with existing controls due to fraudulent losses, Accounting Control Best Practices, Second Edition is the reference handbook every accountant and systems analyst can use to ensure that their company has constructed a durable and efficient set of controls. This easy-to-use handbook clearly explains how to develop an effective system of accounting and operational controls and offers the best practices with pragmatic insights and proactive strategies to protect organizations from suffering further substantial losses of assets and reputation that occur from financial dishonesty within an organization. Author and renowned accounting expert Steven Bragg provides control flowcharts in every chapter for all major processes as well as a thorough set of corporate policies designed to support the system of controls. Now containing chapters on budgeting, collections, and acquisition integration, this valuable reference handbook offers essential information on control best practices for: Order entry, credit, and shipment Inventory management Billing Cash-handling Payroll Fixed assets Budgeting Financial reporting Just-in-time manufacturing Petty cash And many more Encompassing all of the major accounting and operational processes with nearly 500 controls presented in basic, intermediate, and advanced layers, from those needed for a very basic paper-based system, to computerized systems, to the use of advanced best practice enhancements in computerized systems, Accounting Control Best Practices, Second Edition is the only guidebook needed to devise a set of controls precisely tailored to every company's system.
Call Number: HF5636.B83 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-31
Accounting Reference Desktop by Discusses issues not covered in other books, including best practices budgeting, closing the books, and control systems. Includes interest factor tables, sample forms for data entry, sample report formats for internal as well as external reports. Features flowcharts and checklists for key control points in the major accounting processes.
Call Number: HF5657.4 .B7195 2002
Publication Date: 2002-04-26
The Debate on Inflation Accounting by First published in 1984, this book gives a historical account of the worldwide development of the theory and practice of inflation accounting (particularly as applied to the financial accounts of corporations). It is a comprehensive account, both in terms of the historical depth and the international breadth of its coverage. The account of the debate in Britain includes the results of original research by the authors, based on interviews and archive material. The book offers important insights not only into the present state and likely future course of the debate on inflation accounting but also into the whole process of setting financial accounting standards. The exposition is kept at a non-technical level wherever possible, but the reader should ideally have the degree of technical expertise which could be acquired by reading the companion volume, Inflation Accounting: an introduction to the debate, by Geoffrey Whittington.
Call Number: HF5658.5 .T83 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-30
Governmental and Nonprofit Accounting by For accounting students enrolled in a governmental and nonprofit accounting course. This is a comprehensive textbook that is written through the eyes of the learner to prepare them for professional government and not-for-profit accounting practice and the CPA exam.
Call Number: HJ9777.A3L95 2009
Publication Date: 2008-04-14