Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Communication is an academic discipline that helps students develop and refine their communication skills to help their organizations communicate effectively and efficiently. The goal of Business Communication courses is to help the student master essential communication principles and gain expertise in both written and oral communication. The course covers many elements of business communications, including listening, feedback, interviewing, leadership, problem solving communication, and verbal and nonverbal messages. The major focus areas of Business Communication include the basics of business communication, the process of communication, communicating within groups, and communicating through effective presentations.
This research guide presents recommended resources for BGMT 208: Business Communication.
Below is a short list of journals that cover the area of business management. If there is an article you are interested in that is not freely available through UDC library resources, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. If you have questions on how to do this, contact a librarian.
Recommended Web Resources
UDC belongs to the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC).
The nine member libraries share circulating materials with each other and have a common library catalog.
You can use the catalog to look for materials in all of the libraries' collections at one time, or you can limit your search to any one of the libraries.
The "Search Everything" feature of UDC Search includes all print resources held by the libraries of the nine WRLC institutions as well as the electronic resources available to UDC students, faculty, and staff.
Related Research Guides
The following UDC Library research guides are related to business management and may provide additional useful information.
Do you see something missing from this guide? Let us know!
The library is always open to adding missing content to our guides. We are happy to add new links, information, and resources you may be aware of. Please email us at email@example.com to share any links or information you would like to see us include.
We have created several Help Guides to help you navigate using library and information resources and tools. These guides are designed to walk you through finding what you need while offering tips, tricks, and other useful information.
You can see a full list of our subject guides in our Index of Research Guides.
ABI/INFORM is a business research database with full-text articles from business journals and newspapers.
This publication of the Associated Press has become the leading English style and usage reference for most corporate communication (and is the official guide for UDC communications). It offers a basic reference to grammar, punctuation and principles of reporting, including many definitions and rules for usage as well as styles for capitalization, abbreviation, spelling and numerals.
Bplans offers more than 500 free sample business plans in a wide variety of industries.
Business Market Research Collection
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Are you preparing for a professional licensing exam? Are you curious about a particular occupation or looking to build your workplace skills? The resources in the Career Preparation center will help you shine in the workplace.
Regional Business News
75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Statista is a statistics portal integrating over 80,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into over 21 market sectors, Statista provides access to relevant and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
The AMA Handbook of Business Letters by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-07-11
Though the fundamentals of letter writing have remained the same, the way we communicate in business is constantly evolving. Whether it's a formal printed letter or an email, the ability to write effective correspondence is essential for success--no matter what the industry. This book provides over 370 customizable model letters, divided into categories reflecting various aspects of business, including: sales, marketing, and public relations; customer service; human resources; credit and collection; letters to vendors and suppliers; confirmations, requests, and replies; permissions; and many more. In addition, the book provides readers with a refresher course in the letter-writing basics, and helpful appendices listing common mistakes in grammar, word usage, and punctuation.
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2010-08-04
With more than 800 alphabetical entries and nearly 100 sample documents, this text provides quick, accessible guidelines to the entire writing process, from using correct grammar and style to formatting a document for clarity to writing effectively for a target audience. It is a comprehensive reference---and remarkably easy to pinpoint the information you need to complete any writing project, whether it's an annual report, newsletter, press release, business plan, grant proposal, training manual, PowerPoint presentation, or piece of formal correspondence.
Bridging the Culture Gap by
Call Number: HF5389 .C36 2004
Publication Date: 2004-06-28
A practical guide for communicating and influencing across cultures. The authors use authentic and engaging anecdotes, which will help readers to understand their own culture, and other`s reactions to it in the context of everyday business.
Communicating at Work: Strategies for Success in Business and the Professions by
Call Number: HF5718 .A33 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
This text provides students with strategies that are rooted in current research and real-world best practices. Students will gain the tools they need to make informed and ethical decisions in face-to-face and virtual environments and to master practical skills and competencies necessary for succeeding and maintaining balance in today's business world. Updates throughout the twelfth edition reflect the rapidly changing landscape of professional communication influenced by the visibility and connectedness of the mobile revolution.
Essential Negotiation: An A-Z Guide by
Call Number: HD58.6 .K457 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-27
What one really needs to know to become an effective negotiator, clearly and succinctly written for the layperson and businessperson.
Powerful Proposals by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2005-01-03
This title helps businesses maximize the selling power of their proposals, with proven strategies for going beyond "this is what we do" documents in favor of customer-centered offers that highlight the tangible benefits your company offers. It offers tools and techniques that will let any firm assess their "winner or loser" proposal status and take proactive steps to become a winner, address the "Big Four" questions that a proposal must answer to be successful, create "A+" proposals in less time with less wasted effort via a simple, repeatable process, and neutralize the issue of price when the firm is not the low-price provider. The book takes readers step by step through designing executive summaries, writing themes, and generating the text. There is also valuable information on strategy, graphics, callouts, and other visual elements.
A Practical Guide to Business Writing: Writing in English for Non-Native Speakers by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
Communication is increasingly global, but it's not any easier to understand or contribute to for non-fluent English speakers. There is increasing pressure to be able to produce effective documents for a business environment but little help out there to do so efficiently, resulting in wasted time and uncomfortable business communication. This book provides a wealth of practical information for any person who aims to produce short, effective documents within the work environment. It offers sensible, valuable and helpful rules for producing effective short reports, memos, letters and e-mails that are clear, concise and easy to read for the busy manager or supervisor working in the demanding setting of modern industry or commerce.
Small Business Management: An Entrepreneur's Guidebook by
Call Number: HD62.7 .S5943 2009
Publication Date: 2008-09-08
This book takes a practical and down-to-earth approach to planning, organizing, and running a small business. While employing current research and theory, it takes a pragmatic how-to perspective illustrating many practical examples and applications from the business world. It explains how to achieve optimum benefits from the limited resources available to small firms, as well as how to plan for growth and succession in a business. It also explores arguments both for and against owning a small business.
African American Entrepreneurs: Successes and Struggles of Entrepreneurs of Color in America by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-03-22
African American entrepreneurs are key contributors to the American economy. Faced with numerous challenges, many African American entrepreneurs have learned to transcend tough obstacles, leverage resources, and strategically pursue opportunities to achieve business success. This book captures the stories and mindsets of contemporary African Americans in their quest for the American dream.
Mastering the Art of Oral Presentations: Winning Orals, Speeches, and Stand-Up Presentations by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019-03-27
Whether selling a product, offering a service, or bidding for a contract, oral presentation skills can often determine success or failure. This resource delivers real-world advice and proven strategies to the deal. Comprehensive coverage of preparation procedures, delivery techniques, and presentation strategies provide the tools and knowledge to motivate and persuade your audience. Emphasizing real-world versatility, this unique book delivers methods equally effective to both individual and team presentations.
Words Matter: Communicating Effectively in the New Global Office by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-10-18
In a 21st-century global economy, in which multinational companies coordinate and collaborate with partners and clientele around the world, it is usually English that is the parlance of business, research, technology, and finance. Most assume that if parties on both ends of the conference call are fluent English speakers, information will be shared seamlessly and without any misunderstanding. But is that really true? This book examines how communications between transnational partners routinely break down, even when all parties are fluent English speakers. What's going wrong? Contrary to a common assumption, language is never neutral. Its is heavily influenced by one's culture and can often result in unintended meanings depending on word choice, a particular phrase, or even one's inflection. This book ventures into the halls of multinational tech companies around the world to study language and culture at work. Learn practical steps for harnessing research in communication and anthropology to become more skilled in the digital workplace and learn to use the "Communication Plus Model," which can be easily applied in multiple situations, leading to better communication and better business outcomes.
Browse the Stacks
If you want to browse the stacks for books related to business communications, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.
HD 58.7-58.95 - Organizational Behavior, Change and Effectiveness, Corporate Culture
HF 5717-5734.7 - Business Communication
PE 1479 - Business Writing
When you search for articles, books, and other information, you need to use keywords. Below is a list of some keywords or categories of keywords that could be used in the library databases. You can use them on their own, or mix and match them to narrow your results.
- Business Communication
- Business Etiquette
- Business Writing
- Commercial Correspondence
- Communication in Management
- English Language -- Business English
- Intercultural Communication