Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide presents recommended resources for ENGL 358: Caribbean Literature.
Below is a short list of journals that cover the area of Caribbean literature. If there is an article you are interested in that is not freely available through UDC library resources, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. If you have questions on how to do this, contact a librarian.
A peer-reviewed Caribbean Studies Journal that publishes original works and critical studies of Caribbean literature, theater, film, art, and culture by writers and scholars worldwide exclusively in electronic form.
A peer-reviewed quarterly journal on Caribbean culture.
A peer-reviewed journal of research and writing in the field of Caribbean studies from a multidisciplinary and multicultural perspective.
Journal of Caribbean History
A peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the publishing of original, rigorous research papers of a high quality that addresses all aspects of Caribbean history in the mainland territories of North, Central and South America.
Journal of West Indian Literature
A peer-reviewed journal that provides a regional and extra-regional forum for the dissemination and discussion of Caribbean literary and artistic culture.
A peer-reviewed journal that publishes work on the language, literature, and culture of the Caribbean and its multiple diasporas.
Small Axe: A Caribbean Journal of Criticism
A peer-reviewed journal of work focusing on the renewal of practices of social, literary, cultural, political, and historical criticism in the regional and diasporic Caribbean.
Peer-reviewed articles that provide a forum for multicultural debates, as well as new postcolonial writing.
Recommended Web Resources
UDC belongs to the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC).
The nine member libraries share circulating materials with each other and have a common library catalog.
You can use the catalog to look for materials in all of the libraries' collections at one time, or you can limit your search to any one of the libraries.
The "Search Everything" feature of UDC Search includes all print resources held by the libraries of the nine WRLC institutions as well as the electronic resources available to UDC students, faculty, and staff.
Related Research Guides
The following UDC Library research guides are related to Caribbean literature and may provide additional useful information.
Do you see something missing from this guide? Let us know!
The library is always open to adding missing content to our guides. We are happy to add new links, information, and resources you may be aware of. Please email us at email@example.com to share any links or information you would like to see us include.
We have created several Help Guides to help you navigate using library and information resources and tools. These guides are designed to walk you through finding what you need while offering tips, tricks, and other useful information.
You can see a full list of our subject guides in our Index of Research Guides.
Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theater, and Cultural Studies.
This award-winning digital library is the only resource to combine exclusively available play text content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.
Gale Literature brings together premier literary databases (Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online) in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
Includes poems in full text and articles about poetry and poets. There are articles, hundreds of podcasts, as well as audio versions of poems sometimes read by the author of the poem.
A selection of books on Caribbean literature available from the UDC Library.
Caribbeing: Comparing Caribbean Literatures and Cultures by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2014-09-15
From wide-ranging overviews of the entire region to close readings of specific works, this volume opens a fascinating window on the literatures and cultures of the Caribbean, covering texts in the multiplicity of languages used in the wider Caribbean.
The Changing Face of Afro-Caribbean Cultural Identity by
Call Number: PN849.C3 B29 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The text looks primarily at Negrismo and Négritude, two literary movements that appeared in the Francophone and Hispanic Caribbean as well as in Africa at the beginning of the 20th century. It poses the bases of both movements in the Caribbean and in Africa, and lays out the literary antecedents that influenced or shaped both movements. This book examines the Négritude movement and search for cultural identity through poetry, and further discusses the under-represented Négritude women writers who were silenced by their male counterparts during the first half of the 20th century. Ultimately, this is a book on Caribbean cultural identity that shows it in a slippery and fluctuating zone. By demonstrating that while the founders of the Négritude movement both identified themselves as descendants of Africans and were proud to proclaim their African heritage, the members of the Antillanité and Créolité movements see themselves as a product of miscegenation between different cultures.
Literature of the Caribbean by
Call Number: PN849.C3 P37 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The literature of the Caribbean reflects the social, political, and cultural concerns of the region and is a valuable tool for learning about the area and its people. This book includes chapters on roughly a dozen contemporary Caribbean writers. Along with plot summaries, these sections discuss major themes and give close attention to how Caribbean culture figures in the writer's texts. Each chapter provides a brief biography, followed by a critical analysis of one or more significant literary works. These discussions consider the plot and themes of the texts and examine how the literary works reflect Caribbean cultural and social issues.
The Oxford Book of Caribbean Verse by
Call Number: PR9205.6 .O94 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The Caribbean produced what is arguably the most vigorous and exciting body of poetry of the twentieth century. This text is an anthology of Caribbean poetry available that represents all of the Caribbean -- not only the English language writers. The book features a range of poets, from Derek Walcott and Edward Braithwaite to Jesus Cos Causse, and from Olive Senior to Una Marson. It covers less acclaimed poets of the 1920s, 30s, and 40s, as well as exciting newer voices from the 80s and 90s. Poetry lovers of any description will find this a rich and satisfying book.
Rewriting the Return to Africa by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
This book examines the ways Guadeloupean women writers Maryse Condé, Simone Schwarz-Bart and Myriam Warner-Vieyra demystify the theme of the return to Africa as opposed to the masculinist version by Négritude male writers from the 1930s to 1960s. Négritude drew much of its strength from the idea of a mythical or cultural reconnection with the African past allegorized as a mother figure. In contrast these women writers of the post-colonial era who are to large extent heirs of Négritude, differ sharply from their male counterparts in their representation of Africa. In their novels, the continent is not represented as a propitious mother figure but a disappointing father figure. This study argues that these women writers' subversion of the metaphorical figure of Africa and its transformation is tied to their gender. The women novelists are indeed critical of a female allegorization of the land that is reminiscent of a colonial or nationalist project and a simplistic representation of motherhood that does not reflect the complexities of the Diaspora's relation to origins and identity.
The Routledge Companion to Anglophone Caribbean Literature by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2011
This title offers a comprehensive, critically engaging overview of this increasingly significant body of work. The volume is divided into six sections that consider the foremost figures of the Anglophone Caribbean literary tradition and a history of literary critical debate textual turning points, identifying key moments in both literary and critical history and bringing lesser known works into context fresh perspectives on enduring and contentious critical issues including the canon, nation, race, gender, popular culture and migration; new directions for literary criticism and theory, such as eco-criticism, psychoanalysis, and queer studies; the material dissemination of Anglophone Caribbean literature; and generic interfaces with film and visual art.
Caribbean Diaspora in Washington, DC