Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More information on Gwendolyn Brooks can be found using the resources listed in this guide.
Langston Hughes, on his front steps at his home in Harlem, 1958.
Purdue OWL: Writing in Literature
The Online Writing Lab is great resource for information on writing about literature and includes details on critical theories, terminology and more.
VOS - Literary Theory
A collection of links to literary theory and criticism sites.
ipl2 Literary Criticism
Site hosted by the iSchool at Drexel University that collects biographical and critical literary websites.
Do you see something missing from this guide? Let us know!
The library is always open to adding missing content to our guides. We are happy to add new links, information, and resources you may be aware of. Please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org to share any links or information you would like to see us include.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism by The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism has become the indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. The long-awaited second edition includes 48 new entries and subentries and has been revised throughout, taking account of ten years of rapidly changing scholarship. While concentrating on the explosion of contemporary critical and theoretical works, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of ideas and individuals ranging from Plato and Aristotle to twentieth-century scholars. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also examines developments in other disciplines which have shaped literary theory and criticism. An international, encyclopedic guide to the field's most important figures, schools, and movements, the new edition reflects the state of literary theory and criticism.
Call Number: PN81 .J554 2004
Publication Date: 2004-11-03
Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory by Over the past twenty years J. A. Cuddon's Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theoryhas become firmly established as a classic work of reference. Now in its fourth edition, complete with many new entries and insights, it remains the most comprehensive and accessible work of its kind and constitutes essential reading for students, teachers and general readers alike. 'Scholarly, succinct, comprehensive and entertaining, this is an important book, an indispensable work of reference. It draws on the literature of many languages and quotes aptly and freshly from our own.' The Times Educational Supplement
Call Number: Ready Reference PN41 .C83 1999
Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory by Not a general dictionary of literary terms, the Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory treats seventy fundamental and overarching concepts from allegory and allusion to tragedy and unity. By concepts is meant broad terms that designate modes of thought about, approaches to, or major classifications of literature that are of central importance to the history or present pursuit of literary criticism and commentary. Particular attention has been given to distinguishing the different senses in which a term has been used or is presently used, to noting major questions that have been debated in relation to the concept, and to documenting points of view and specific aspects with full references. Additional sources of information are appended in each case. Useful especially to students and faculty in literature and to literary critics, the concepts are lucidly presented in essays that can enlighten any reader interested in more than superficial definitions.
Call Number: Reference PN41 .H36 1992
Publication Date: 1992-04-13
Feminism in Literature by This six-volume set, the latest offering from the Gale Critical Companion Collection, explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the Lost Generation, lesbian literature, modern feminist theory, criticism and scholarship and much more. Also included are detailed studies of prominent women writers, including Sor Juana Inez de la Cruz, Mary Wollstonecraft, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Isabel Allende, Margaret Atwood, Doris Lessing, Adrienne Rich and many others. Three indexes - author, title and subject - help researchers find information across the set, making it easy to make connections and find related details. Feminism in Literature is the third set in the new Gale Critical Companion Collection which is designed to complement and extend the existing Literary Criticism Series. in literature and the humanities designed to meet the research needs of high school and undergraduate students.
Call Number: PN471 .F43 2005
Publication Date: 2004-11-05
Women in Literature by With the literary canon consisting mostly of works created by and about men, the central perspective is decidedly male. This unique reference offers alternate approaches to reading traditional literature, as well as suggestions for expanding the canon to include more gender sensitive works. Covering 96 of the most frequently taught works of fiction, essays offer teachers, librarians, and students fresh insights into the female perspective in literature. The list of titles, created in consultation with educators, includes classic works by male authors like Dickens, Faulkner, and Twain, balanced with works by female authors such as Kate Chopin's The Awakening and Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. Also included are contemporary works by writers such as Alice Walker and Margaret Atwood that are being incorporated into the curriculum, as well as those advancing a more global view, such as Sandra Cisneros' House on Mango Street and Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart. The essays are expertly written in an accessible language that will help students gain greater awareness of gender-related themes. Suggestions for classroom discussions--with selected works for further study--are incorporated into the entries. The volume is organized alphabetically by title and includes both author and subject indexes. An appendix of gender-related themes further enhances this volume's usefulness for curriculum applications and student research projects.
Call Number: PN56.5.W64 W65 2003
Publication Date: 2003-06-30
Literary Reference and Biographical Databases
Gale Literature brings together premier literary databases (Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online) in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field.
Reference e-books including the Critical Insights series on authors and works and the Magill's Literary Annuals.
Oxford English Dictionary
Definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of English words over the last 1500 years.
General Reference Databases
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition
Combines the Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.