Learning Resources Division: Government Information Help Guide: Find Government Information

Finding Government Information

The amount of government information available is extensive. This page provides information on the most popular and useful government information resources.

If you need government information that is not available through these resources, please contact us at ask@udc.libanswers.com and we can help you track down the information you need.

Best Bet

The amount of government information available is astounding. Sadly, there's no one database where you can search it all. The Government Printing Office's (GPO) MetaLib is the closet thing there is to a comprehensive database. We recommend that you start your search for government information and data here.

MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

GPO MetaLib

Recommended Government Information Resources

American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation. Most information is drawn from census surveys.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Explore Census Data
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Use this resource to find and use information collected by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Government Printing Office - E-books and E-magazines
GPO’s Digital Products and eBooks cover a variety of important topics including business and government, exporting, navigation, finance, statistics, investment fraud, military history, challenges of warfare, U.S. citizenship and more. Select Federal Government e-journals and digital magazine issues are available for sale online through Zinio.com, ProQuest, and EBSCOhost library databases. ePub electronic books may be viewed on your on PC, Mac, iPad, Android tablet, Android Phone, iPhone, Barnes and Noble Nook, SONY Readers, PDA Blackberries, and other devices.
Internal Revenue Service
Information about taxes including forms, filing, and your tax history.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
Occupation Outlook Handbook
Provides information about careers and occupation including statistics, salaries, outlook, education, and training.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Provides information about U.S. relations with foreign countries.

Popular .gov Websites

Arts.gov
Established by Congress in 1965, the NEA is the independent federal agency whose funding and support gives Americans the opportunity to participate in the arts, exercise their imaginations, and develop their creative capacities. Through partnerships with state arts agencies, local leaders, other federal agencies, and the philanthropic sector, the NEA supports arts learning, affirms and celebrates America’s rich and diverse cultural heritage, and extends its work to promote equal access to the arts in every community across America. Visit arts.gov to learn more about NEA.
Census.gov
Complete information about and from the U.S. Census bureau including statistics and survey data.
CollegeNavigator.gov
This website provides information about finding and paying for college.
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
Consumer.gov
This website provides information and tools for consumers including money management, debt, credit, loan, and scam information
ConsumerFinance.gov
The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) regulates the offering and provision of consumer financial products or services under the federal consumer financial laws and educates and empowers consumers to make better informed financial decisions.
Copyright.gov
Congress relies upon and directs the Copyright Office to provide critical law and policy services, including domestic and international policy analysis, legislative support for Congress, litigation support, assistance to courts and executive branch agencies, participation on U.S. delegations to international meetings, and public information and education programs. Information about copyright, fair use, and licensing is available. You can also search the register of copyrighted material.
Data.gov
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Digital.gov
The agency helps the government community deliver better digital services. Their mission is to transform how government learns, builds, delivers, and measures digital services in the 21st century.
They do that by providing people in the federal government with the tools, methods, practices, and policy guidance they need to deliver effective and accessible digital services.
Disability.gov
The Office of Disability Employment Policy (ODEP) is the only non-regulatory federal agency that promotes policies and coordinates with employers and all levels of government to increase workplace success for people with disabilities.
Floodsmart.gov
This is an official site of the National Flood Insurance Program. It provides information about floods, flood risk, and flood insurance.
FOIA.gov
The basic function of the Freedom of Information Act is to ensure informed citizens, vital to the functioning of a democratic society. This site can help you determine if filing a FOIA request is the best option for you and help you create your request when you’re ready.
GlobalChange.gov
The U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) is a federal program mandated by Congress to coordinate federal research and investments in understanding the forces shaping the global environment, both human and natural, and their impacts on society. USGCRP facilitates collaboration and cooperation across its 13 federal member agencies to advance understanding of the changing Earth system and maximize efficiencies in federal global change research.
GovInfo.gov
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Grants.gov
Grants.gov provides a common website for federal agencies to post discretionary funding opportunities and for grantees to find and apply to them. It also includes support for how to find and write a grant.
Healthcare.gov
This website helps you navigate the healthcare insurance landscape. It provides information on getting and using coverage.
Healthfinder.gov
This website provides information on health screens, doctors visits, and medical conditions.
Investor.gov
Investor.gov is your online resource to help you make sound investment decisions and avoid fraud.
Mentalhealth.gov
MentalHealth.gov provides one-stop access to U.S. government mental health and mental health problems information. This includes information about mental health support.
MyMoney.gov
This website is a product of the Congressionally chartered Federal Financial Literacy and Education Commission, which is made up of more than 20 Federal entities that are coordinating and collaborating to strengthen financial capability and increase access to financial services for all Americans.
Ready.gov
Launched in February 2003, Ready is a National public service campaign designed to educate and empower the American people to prepare for, respond to and mitigate emergencies, including natural and man-made disasters. The goal of the campaign is to promote preparedness through public involvement.
Recalls.gov
To provide better service in alerting the American people to unsafe, hazardous or defective products, six federal agencies with vastly different jurisdictions have joined together to create Recalls.gov -- a "one stop shop" for U.S. Government recalls.
Recreation.gov
Recreation.gov shares information and photos about visiting over 3,600 facilities and 103,000 individual sites across the country - including national parks, museums, and other historical sites.
Regulations.gov
Search all publicly available regulatory materials, e.g., trending regulations, public comments, supporting analyses, FR notices, and rules. You can also submit information and download full government regulations.
Safecar.gov
Provides comprehensive information about cars, safety tests, tires, car seats, and more.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
ToxTown
Tox Town provides consumer-level information on everyday locations and situations where you might be exposed to toxic chemicals. This site will help you better understand risks of exposure, potential health effects, and how to protect yourself.
TreasuryDirect.gov
TreasuryDirect is the first and only financial services website that lets you buy and redeem securities directly from the U.S. Department of the Treasury in paperless electronic form.
USA.gov
You can search USA.gov in a few different ways to find official U.S. government information, programs, and services.
USAJobs.gov
This is where you can find and apply to government jobs available locally, nationally, and internationally.

Government Information Help Guide

Finding Government Information

Best Bet

Recommended Government Information Resources

Popular .gov Websites

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120