Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home About Us Research & Find Services Faculty FAQs Contact Us
  • My Library Account
  • Government Information Help Guide

    Information produced by the federal government can be helpful for a wide variety of research needs. While UDC is not a member of the Federal Depository System, federal government information is readily available at the UDC Library.

    The Branches of Government

    There are three branches of government: executive, legislative, and judicial. These branches provide for the separation of powers and see to the different parts of governing. Each branch generates a lot of information. The information on this page direct you to the best resources for each branch.

    Executive Branch

    The executive branch, better known as the presidency, carries out and enforces the law. It's main actors are the president, vice president, and cabinet members.

    Legislative Branch

    The legislative branch makes the laws. It's housed in Congress whose two bodies are the House of Representatives and the Senate.

    Judicial Branch

    The judicial branch interprets the law. Its main body is the Supreme Court with other federal courts in support.