Honoring Our Elders and Seeking the Visions of the Youth
Time : Doors open @5:00 PM – Film Starts @5:30 PM
Location: UDC Student Center
(Directed by Ryan Coogler) This film tells the story of the nation of Wakanda, an isolated futuristic African nation. The leader of Wakanda is T’Challa, the King of Wakanda, who is also the Black Panther, the defender of the Wakandan people. T’Challa’s royal lineage faces challenges from it’s ancestral roots and modern political developments as he rises to the throne. His claim is challenged by an outsider who was a childhood victim of T’Challa’s father’s error. The movie explores themes of national and individual excellence and women’s empowerment through science and technology and as warriors. It also wrestles with issues of cultural preservation vs. engagement and familial abandonment. Black Panther has become the third-highest-grossing film ever in the United States, and the ninth-highest-grossing film of all time.
Afrofuturism is an African American literary and artistic movement addressing the transatlantic issues of displacement, home, and belonging. In speculative fiction, some of the major recurring themes have included alien intrusion and subjugation, forced displacement, and the quest to return to the native land and to regain a lost sense of cultural location. All of these themes would have a very natural appeal to African American writers and readers, and yet until the last few decades of the twentieth century, there was little African American visibility in the genres of science fiction and science fantasy.
At the literary forefront of the Afrofuturist movement has been the Jamaican-Canadian novelist Nalo Hopkinson. She is best known for her novels Brown Girl in the Ring (1998) and Midnight Robber(2000), in which she focuses on Afro-Caribbean women dealing with the dislocation that they experience in other settings. Beyond their inventive narratives and compelling themes, the novels are notable for their use of Afro-Caribbean dialect.
Hopkinson’s African American forerunners in the genre have included, most prominently, the American novelists Samuel R. Delany and Octavia Butler, both of whom have won major awards. Delany has earned a reputation as a novelist interested in intellectual movements and cultural theories. In almost all of his novels, he has treated the intersections of language, myth, and artistic expression. His most acclaimed novels have included Babel-17 (1966) and The Einstein Intersection (1967). Butler is best known for her five-volume Patternists series (1976-1984), which focuses on a group of telepaths who are obsessed with creating a race of super-humans. More recently, she has written the Xenogenesis trilogy (1987-1989), which treats a postapocalyptic world in which aliens conduct genetic experiments with human beings. Afrofuturism is not just a literary movement. It has drawn adherents from across the whole spectrum of the arts. Some of the more prominent of these artists have included George Clinton, Kodwo Eshun, McLean Greaves, Lee “Scratch” Perry, Keith Piper, Sun Ra, and Fatimah Tuggar.
Kich, M. (2008). Afrofuturism. In R. M. Juang, & N. A. Morrissette (Eds.), Africa and the Americas: culture, politics, and history. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO
Afrofuturism by 
Afrofuturism and Black Sound Studies by 
The Blacker the Ink by 
The Cultural Impact of Kanye West by 
The Dream by 
The Five Percenters by 
I Have a Dream by 
Mothership by 
A Pure Solar World by 
Sports and the Racial Divide by 
A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920. A full text database of these 19th and early 20th- century titles, this digital library is keyword-searchable.
Formerly American Memory, this provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
The African e-Journals Project has digitized full text of articles of eleven social science and humanities journals.
With approximately 10 million photos accessible, the LIFE magazine archive is a rich resource for anyone seeking images relating to U.S. history and world events. Names of photographers and the dates that photos were taken are identified.
Now included in Gale Literature. Literature criticism, biographies, work and topic overviews, reviews, and full text of many literary works—all searchable at the same time and returned in lists organized according to the type of research needs they serve.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field.
