The mission of the Firebird Film Festival is to be innovative educationally and to encourage social, cultural, economic and political awareness among the UDC student body and D.C. community. By showcasing a variety of films to a diverse audience, we hope to inspire unity and enlightenment.
The 2018 Firebird Film Festival focused on themes under the umbrella of Justice. This guide provides information and resources that support and explore the themes of:
More information about the festival is available on their website.
You can RSVP to attend events online here.
#udc1851 #udcfirebirds #udcfilmfestival
Each tab in this guide is dedicated to the subject matter explored during each day of the Festival. On each page you will find a summary of the topic, recommended books and specialized databases, and links to more information.
For every subject covered, the following databases may included useful information and resources.
An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more. This extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience.
More than 2,200 full-text journal titles and more than 360 full-text books including coverage in the following areas which align with UDC programs: general business, architecture, home & houses, aerospace sciences, general technology, telecommunications, construction & building, industrial technology, accounting & tax, computer science, law, educational assessment & evaluation, educational levels, fashion & style, visual arts, hospitality industry, hotel & restaurant management, recreation & leisure studies, travel, law enforcement industry, law enforcement & intelligence, social sciences & humanities, funeral services industry, music, allied health, health & medicine, medical administration & management, medical care & services.
The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of national policy issues. The Federation of American Scientists endeavors to provide current, regularly updated public access to as many non-confidential CRS reports as possible. These reports are provided without congressional or CRS authorization as a public service.
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. It aims to cover all subjects and languages. Currently there are over 5,000 journals included.
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-XIII, Life Sciences, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa. Also includes e-books and digital repositories with primary source materials.
Searches all subscribed ProQuest databases at once.
The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. It provides information on hundreds of topics, including: addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.
Covers all areas of sociology including criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, social development, and social psychology.
