Books - BLAW 214 - Legal Environment of Business - Learning Resources Division at University of the District of Columbia

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for books related to business communications, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

HD 28-70 - Management, Industrial Management

HF 5387-5387.5 - Business Ethics

K 801-899 - Business/Commercial Law

K 1000-1395 - Commercial Law

Recommended Books

Behavioral Business Ethics by David De Cremer (Editor); Ann E. Tenbrunsel (Editor)
Call Number: HF 5387.B427
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
This book takes a look at how and why individuals display unethical behavior. Drawing from work on psychology, it emphasizes the actual behavior of individuals rather than the specific business practices.
Business Ethics as Practice: Ethics as the Everyday Business of Business by Mollie Painter-Morland
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2009-09-22
In this book, the author urges readers to take business ethics seriously by reconsidering the role of ethics management within organizations. She redefines the typical seven-step ethics management program from within - challenging the reader to reconsider what is possible within each aspect of this process. In doing so, she draws on the insights of Aristotle, Nietzsche, Heidegger, Foucault and numerous contemporary organizational theorists and sociologists to create the space for the emergence of a morally responsive corporate ethos.
Contract Law: Rules, Theory, & Context by Brian H. Bix
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-10-15
This book offers an accessible introduction to all aspects of American contract law. It is grounded on up-to-date scholarship and contains detailed references to cases, statutes, restatements and international legal principles. The book takes the reader from contract formation through interpretation and remedies, considering both the practical and theoretical aspects throughout. Each chapter also includes helpful lists of suggested further reading.
Corporate Integrity by Marvin T. Brown
Call Number: HD60 .B766 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-21
What do corporations look like when they have integrity, and how can we move more companies in that direction? This book offers a comprehensive framework - and practical business lessons - bringing together questions of organizational design, communication practices, working relationships, and leadership styles to answer this question. The author explores the five key challenges facing modern businesses as they try to respond ethically to cultural, interpersonal, organizational, civic and environmental challenges. He demonstrates that if corporations are to meet the needs of civil society, they must facilitate inclusive communication patterns based on mutual recognition and civic cooperation.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society by Robert W. Kolb (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HF5387 .E53 2008
Publication Date: 2007-10-19
The five volumes of this ultimate resource recognize the inherent unity between business ethics and business and society, that stems from their shared primary concern with value in commerce. This encyclopedia spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including more than 800 entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
Ethics at Work: Creating Virtue in an American Corporation by Daniel Terris
Call Number: HF5387.5.U6 T47 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-19
The author spent two years researching Lockheed Martin materials and interviewing its ethics officers and ordinary employees to develop this rich case study of the ethics program at this powerful global corporation. This study begins with a survey of American attitudes toward ethics in business over the past century, raising the question of whether ethics can be genuinely built into the modern mega-corporation. He then develops a portrait of Lockheed Martin--its history and the nature of its far-flung businesses--turning at last to its ethics program, which was created following a series of bribery, overcharging, and corruption scandals in the 1970s and 1980s. Although Terris applauds Lockheed Martin's ethics program as "gloriously democratic" in its focus on the responsibility of every worker for the ethical dimensions of his or her actions, he is concerned that the broad-based focus tends to divert attention from the ethical responsibilities of senior management and the moral complexities of collective decision-making. While he admires the ambitious scope of the program, he notes that the corporation's definition of "ethics" focuses on individual behavior rather than on the impact of the corporation's broader policies on local, national, and global communities. The ultimate effect of such programs may be to create more ethical business practices--but, ironically, at the expense of the public good.
The Legal and Regulatory Environment of Business by Marisa Anne Pagnattaro; Daniel R. Cahoy; Julie Manning Magid
Call Number: Community College Reserve KF1600 .C6 2019
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
This book brings a fresh perspective emphasizing the importance of understanding laws and regulations that are fundamental foundations for business. Using court cases and examples in Sidebars that are relevant for business, the authors underscore how learning about the law is essential to understand how the law can be used for strategic advantage and how to develop sustainable business practices.

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-XIII, Life Sciences, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa. Also includes e-books and digital repositories with primary source materials.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

BLAW 214 - Legal Environment of Business

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-5104