IGED Writing Courses

The UDC Library's self-paced tutorial organization on Blackboard. In this program, you can learn all about research and library skills in short lessons. You can visit as often as you need and we will continue to add content to help you learn all about research, the library, academic writing, and information literacy.

This book has been created to provide a framework for building your skills in writing and critical thinking. It provides access to published samples from professional authors along with essay drafts from ESL students who have polished their skills in their respective writing courses.

This text was designed not only to teach students about composition and rhetoric, but about research skills, too. The editors of this text maintain that research skills, or information literacy as librarians put it, have rhetorical elements. The processes of writing and researching are intertwined, and as people write, they filter what they have heard or read from others, often seeking out and evaluating information along the way. The steps of writing and researching are iterative, too, building upon each other in loops, twists, drafts, and revisions.

This text is an exploration of information source types, meaningful research topics, keyword choices, effective search strategies, library resources, Web search considerations, the ethical use of information, and citation.

This textbook provides students with guidelines for understanding writing tasks as intellectual work using Bloom’s Taxonomy and for treating the writing process as a set of variable activities that move along a trajectory from idea or assignment to a finished product. The book also includes chapters on strengthening reading strategies and on finding, evaluating, and using sources effectively.

Written by five college reading and writing instructors, this interactive, multimedia text draws from decades of experience teaching students who are entering the college reading and writing environment for the very first time. It includes examples, exercises, and definitions for just about every reading and writing related topic you will encounter in your college courses.

This book guides students through the composition process of writing a research paper. It divides this process into four chapters that each focus on a genre connected to research writing: the annotated bibliography, proposal, literature review, and research essay. Each chapter provides significant guidance with reading, writing, and research strategies, along with significant examples and links to external resources.

A text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.

This book focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles.

A writing assistance application for proofreading and fine-tuning documents. UDC students, faculty, and staff have free access to Grammarly for Education.

Resources on grammar topics, such as count and noncount nouns, articles (a versus an), subject-verb agreement, and prepositions

Resources on writing issues, such as active and passive voice, parallel sentence structure, parts of speech, and transitions

Resources to help with punctuation, such as using commas, quotation marks, apostrophes, and hyphens.