Skip to Main Content

Candid: Home

This guide offers some resources and suggestions for using the Foundation Directory Online.

Candid at UDC

The University of the District of Columbia (UDC) is a Funding Information Network (FIN) partner of Candid. The Network is comprised of libraries, community foundations, NGOs, and nonprofit resource centers across the country and around the world. As a FIN partner, UDC provides free access to the most comprehensive information available on foundation and corporate giving. It features print and electronic resources as well as professional staff to assist visitors. 

Candid was born February 1, 2019, when Foundation Center and GuideStar joined forces. Candid connects people who want to change the world with the resources they need to do it. Every year, millions of nonprofits spend trillions of dollars around the world. Candid finds out where that money comes from, where it goes, and why it matters. Through research, collaboration, and training, Candid connects nonprofits, foundations, and individuals to the resources they need to do good, building on 88 years of dedicated experience.

ACCESS: You can access the FDO on site by visiting the Reference Desk and asking for log-in access to a library computer.

NOTE: Remote access to FDO Essentials is available by request. Email ask@udc.libanswers.com for access link.

UPDATE: Effective March 25, 2021, Candid is changing how you access the FDO. You still need to email us for the link but after you receive the link, you will be asked to create an account and sign up for a day pass. The day pass allows users to use FDO Essential remotely in a 24-hour window. There is a clock at the top of the screen that will tell you how much time remains in the pass. After the 24 hours, the clock will show the next date on which you can activate a new pass (every 30 days).

Foundation Directory Online

The Foundation Directory Online is a useful tool for finding potential sources of funding for projects. It is one of the foremost resources for finding information on philanthropic organizations. In the Foundation Directory Online you can search for:

  • Grantmakers - organizations that provide grant funding: over 100,000 organizations are in the Directory
  • Information on companies that provide grants: over 4,000 sponsoring companies
  • Specific grant opportunities: over 2.4 million recently awarded grants
  • 990 tax forms for these organizations: over 700,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF

This information can be used to help you locate sources of funding for your own projects and find information on how companies and philanthropic organizations distribute funds.

Please note that the Foundation Directory Online is only accessible while on campus. 

NOTE: Remote access to FDO Essentials is available by request. Email ask@udc.libanswers.com for access link.

Learn More about FDO

Learn more about how to best use FDO with Candid's quick guide, videos, and free classes:

Candid

Ask Candid

Candid makes it easy for you to get real-time, customized help from their team of expert librarians. Visit the link below to find answers and email or chat with a librarian!

Free eBooks!

Candid has an Overdrive library with free eBooks and audio books related to fundraising, marketing, nonprofits, and more! You can see the entire collection and check out material in the link below.