Learning Resources Division: Nutrition & Dietetics: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

RC - Internal medicine

RC620-627 - Nutritional diseases. Deficiency diseases

TX - Home economics

TX341-641 - Nutrition. Foods and food supply

TX642-840 - Cooking

Recommended Books

Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology by D. A. Bender
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2006-06-09
This classic book provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6,100 terms in nutrition and food technology. It also includes nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
The Cambridge World History of Food by Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor); Kriemhild Coneè Ornelas (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2000-10-09
This monumental two-volume work encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
Community Nutrition in Action by Marie A. Boyle
Call Number: TX360.U6 B69 2017
Publication Date: 2016-05-03
This book introduces the program planning, policies, resources, and nutrition issues specific to community nutrition and provides an understanding of creating and implementing nutrition programs from various constituencies (elderly populations, children, impoverished populations, college students, etc.). Incorporating an entrepreneurial approach, this book helps readers learn how to take risks, try new technologies, and use fresh approaches to improving the public's nutrition and health status.
Counselling Skills for Dietitians by Judy Gable; Tamara Herrmann
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-12-22
This book explores the skills required for dietetic counselling, and includes frequent examples of dialogue from patient consultations, as well as exercises and activities so that the reader can undergo experiential learning relevant to their practice. It includes examples from daily practice to illustrate the difficulties encountered by dietitians and demonstrate the application of counselling skills. It clearly explains theoretical models of accepted counselling practice underpinning the skills described, presents information on topics such as assertiveness skills and eating distress, and addresses practical and psychological issues faced by dietitians and patients.
Doing Nutrition Differently: Critical Approaches to Diet and Dietary Intervention by Allison Hayes-Conroy (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-05-13
Offering a collection of critical, interdisciplinary replies and responses to the matter of "hegemonic nutrition," this book presents contributions from a wide variety of perspectives; nutrition professionals and lay people, academics and activists, adults and youth, indigenous, Chicana/o, Latina/o, Environmentalist, Feminist and more. The critical commentary collectively asks for a different, more attentive, and more holistic practice of nutrition. Most importantly, this volume demonstrates how this 'new' nutrition is actually already being performed in small ways across the American continent. In doing so, the volume empowers diverse knowledges, histories, and practices of nutrition that have been marginalized, re-casts the objectives of dietary intervention, and most broadly, attempts to revolutionize the way that nutrition is done.
Food Nutrition, Science and Technology by Neelam Singh; I. S. Singh
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-09-30
This book provides a comprehensive picture on three aspects of food. Part 1: Food nutrition, which covers fundamental of food and nutrition, macro nutrients, micro nutrients, nutritive value of plant and animal based food and dietary allowance in normal life cycle and in various diseases. Part II: Food science which includes food sources, nutritional benefits maximization, food selection, food storage, food enzymes, food additives, food preservation techniques, food quality evaluation and food packaging. Part III: Food technology which deals processing techniques of various products of cereals, pulses, nuts and oil seeds, fats and oil, fruits, vegetables, spices, mushrooms, sugar cane, tea, coffee, milk, meat, poultry and fish, processing waste utilization and food safety.
Gale Encyclopedia of Diets: A Guide to Health and Nutrition by Kristin Key (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
This two-volume set presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet. Articles provide information across all age groups, from infants to the elderly, without the intention of endorsement of any one diet.
Nutrition: Science and Everyday Application by Alice Callahan; Heather Leonard; Tamberly Powell
Publication Date: 2020-01-01
The book covers basic nutrition and metabolism, information literacy, energy balance, nutrition across life stages, dietary supplements, an in-depth look at each of the macronutrients, and major functions of vitamins and minerals.
Nutrition Assessment by Pamela Charney
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-05-31
This book address the techniques used in an in-depth evaluation of the data related to an individual's food and nutrient intake, lifestyle, and medical history. Emphasis is placed on evidence-based components of nutrition assessment, including dietary intake, measurement of the human body (anthropometry) and biochemical assessment. The text addresses the role of nutrition assessment as part of the Nutrition Care Process and introduces readers to advancements in technology for measuring various inputs and outcomes related to effective nutrition assessment.
Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Disease by Ann M. Coulston (Editor); Carol J. Boushey (Editor); Mario Ferruzzi (Editor); Linda Delahanty (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-04-28
This text is a compilation of current knowledge in clinical nutrition and an overview of the rationale and science base of its application to practice in the prevention and treatment of disease.
Nutrition Research Methodologies by Julie A. Lovegrove (Editor); Leanne Hodson (Editor); Sangita Sharma (Editor); Susan A. Lanham-New (Editor); John Krebs (Foreword by)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
This text addresses the rapidly advancing field of nutrition research. It covers the diverse methodologies required for robust nutritional research to ensure thorough understanding of key concepts, both for students at undergraduate and postgraduate levels and for scientists working in nutrition research. Combining theory with practical application, the book addresses both traditional research methods and new technologies, and focuses on a range of complex topics, including energy compensation, nutrient-gene interactions and metabolic adaptation. It also considers statistical issues as well as application of data to policy development.
Nutrition Support by Brenda O'Day
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-12-22
As treatments have become more sophisticated in fighting disease and saving lives, the role nutrition support has become recognized as vital to patient care. This book covers evidence-based practice on nutrition care, addressing the understanding of indications for the route of nutrition support, knowledge of access devices, and components of ordering and monitoring nutrition support regimes. It also discusses several ethical issues surrounding nutrition support, with end of life situations being a common dilemma.
Sports Nutrition Strategies for Success by Abigail J. Larson; Kary Woodruff
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-11-30
This text provides science-based nutrition recommendations that support the optimal performance and well being of young athletes. The authors give an overview of sports nutrition fundamentals, including a breakdown of the macronutrient, micronutrient, and hydration recommendations, as well as optimal quantity and timing of nutrient intake. They also discuss weight management and how to support athletes in achieving healthy weight gain or weight loss; disordered eating and eating disorders signs, symptoms, and treatment; and risks and benefits of dietary supplements.
Human Nutrition by Marie Kainoa Fialkowski Revilla (Adapted by, Edited and Translated by, Editor); Alan Titchenal (Editor, Edited and Translated by, Adapted by)
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

Nutrition & Dietetics

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120