Learning Resources Division: History: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for history books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

CB - History of civilization

CC - Archaeology

D - History (general)

DA-DR - History (Europe)

DS - Asia

DT - Africa

DU - Oceania (South Seas)

E-F - History of the Americas

GN - Anthropology

HN - Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform

JA - Political Science (general)

U - Military science (general)

Recommended Books

African American History by Salem Press
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-02-28
This book provides comprehensive coverage of the many events that define the framework of African American history, including social, cultural, and political movements, and the struggles to gain freedom, equality and civil rights. Articles emphasize key events in the study of slavery, the abolitionist movement, civil rights, discrimination, voting rights, and Supreme Court decisions. Other events focus on arts and entertainment, Black Nationalism, crime and punishment, economic issues, education, military history, politics & government, religion, riots and civil disturbances and women's issues.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Colin A. Palmer; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Reference E185 .E54 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
This book is an authoritative and comprehensive text on Black history, figures and accomplishments. As with the earlier publications, the second edition is aimed at high school and college students, as well as the general reader. Whereas the first edition focused almost exclusively on the United States, this new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges and comprise North America, Central and South America and the Caribbean. Readers can find comparative analyses of social movements, languages, religions and family structures in the context of an interdisciplinary framework that fills a substantial gap in studies of this genre.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
Encyclopedia of Women in American History by Joyce Appleby; Eileen Chang; Neva Goodwin
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. It not only covers the issues that have had an impact on women, but also traces the influence of women's achievements on society as a whole. Divided into three chronologically arranged volumes, the set includes historical surveys and thematic essays on central issues and political changes affecting women's lives during each period. These are followed by A-Z entries on significant events and social movements, laws, court cases and more, as well as profiles of notable American women from all walks of life and all fields of endeavor. Primary sources and original documents are included throughout.
Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement by Christopher M. Richardson; Ralph E. Luker
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2014-06-11
The second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement is a guide to the history of the African-American struggle for equal rights in the United States. The history of this period is covered in a detailed chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 500 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, significant legal cases, local struggles, forgotten heroes, and prominent women in the Movement.
The Hutchinson Dictionary of American History by Helicon
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2006-10-09
Coverage of peoples, places, events, movements, terms, and battles.
The Hutchinson Dictionary of World History by Helicon
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2007-02-02
Companion to world history, ranging from the early civilizations of Mesopotamia, Egypt, and China to the Balkan States and ex-Soviet republics.
LGBTQ Events by Salem Press
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
This book chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities.
The Reader's Companion to U. S. Women's History by Wilma P. Mankiller (Editor); Gwendolyn Mink (Editor); Marysa Navarro (Editor); Barbara Smith (Editor); Gloria Steinem (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 1998-02-27
This landmark text gathers together more than 400 articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation's past, written by more than 300 contributors drawn from various areas of expertise. Here are articles on cowgirls and child care, on the daily lives of single women and the changing notions of motherhood, on the artistic contributions of women of color and the history of Jewish feminism. Wide-ranging in scope and wonderfully accessible, this unique resource reexamines with fresh clarity and brio the issues and concerns that color the lives of all women.
The Underground Railroad by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
The culmination of years of research in dozens of archives and libraries, this fascinating encyclopedia provides an unprecedented look at the network known as the Underground Railroad - that mysterious "system" of individuals and organizations that helped enslaved people escape the American South to freedom during the years before the Civil War. In operation as early as the 1500s and reaching its peak with the abolitionist movement of the antebellum period, the Underground Railroad saved countless lives and helped alter the course of American history. The book includes full coverage of the Railroad in both the United States and Canada, which was the ultimate destination of many of the escaping slaves.

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-XIII, Life Sciences, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa. Also includes e-books and digital repositories with primary source materials.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

History

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-5104