American Historical Association
The American Historical Association (AHA) is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies. The AHA provides leadership for the profession, protects academic freedom, develops professional standards, aids in the pursuit and publication of scholarship, and supplies various services to sustain and enhance the work of its members.
The Avalon Project
This Yale Law School site provides online access to documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government. Materials range from ancient times to the present, and from international issues to key events in the United States.
BBC History
History coverage from the British Broadcasting Corporation, from ancient to modern.
DC History Center
A community-based nonprofit focused on the District’s history, aiming to reach into all eight wards to preserve and elevate the stories of Washington's diverse people, neighborhoods, and institutions.
DC Public Library: The People's Archive
DCPL's vast archives Include the Washingtoniana and Black Studies collections, as well as community history, genealogical records, and digitized materials.
Digital History
History website run by the University of Houston that covers a variety of topics in American history and includes primary sources.
History Matters
Designed for high school and college teachers and students, History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history.
Making of America
Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction hosted by the University of Michigan. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Primary Documents in American History
The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. Primary Documents in American History provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum is America’s national institution for the documentation, study, and interpretation of Holocaust history, and serves as this country’s memorial to the millions of people murdered during the Holocaust.
