Learning Resources Division: Physics: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

QC1-999 - Physics

QC1-75 - General

QC81-114 - Weights and measures

QC120-168.85 - Descriptive and experimental mechanics

QC170-197 - Atomic physics. Constitution and properties of matter

QC221-246 - Acoustics. Sound

QC251-338.5 - Heat, including thermodynamics

QC350-467 - Optics. Light

QC474-496.9 - Radiation physics (General)

QC501-766 - Electricity and magnetism

QC770-798 - Nuclear and particle physics. Atomic energy. Radioactivity

QC801-809 - Geophysics. Cosmic physics

QC811-849 - Geomagnetism

QC851-999 - Meteorology. Climatology

Recommended Books

A Course in Theoretical Physics by P. John Shepherd
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This book is a comprehensive account of five extended modules covering the key branches of twentieth-century theoretical physics, taught by the author over a period of three decades to students on bachelor and master university degree courses in both physics and theoretical physics. The modules cover nonrelativistic quantum mechanics, thermal and statistical physics, many-body theory, classical field theory (including special relativity and electromagnetism), and, finally, relativistic quantum mechanics and gauge theories of quark and lepton interactions, all presented in a single, self-contained volume.
Dictionary of Physics by Michael Chapple
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
An alphabetical dictionary of physics; each term contains both a one-sentence definition followed by analysis, diagrams, examples, and, where relevant, word equations, definitions of units, and symbols for the units.
The Feynman Lectures on Physics by Richard Phillips Feynman; Robert B. Leighton; Matthew Sands
Call Number: QC23 .F47
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
These volumes are an edited version of Richard Feynman's lectures, taped and transcribed specifically for the books. It was a rigorous undertaking that resulted in a classic reference work for all physics students, teachers, and researchers. Feynman's effective classroom style remains intact in these volumes, a valuable work by a remarkable educator.
Fundamentals of Physics I: Mechanics, Relativity, and Thermodynamics by R. Shankar
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
A beloved introductory physics textbook, now including exercises and an answer key, explains the concepts essential for thorough scientific understanding. In this concise book, the author explains the essential concepts of Newtonian mechanics, special relativity, waves, fluids, thermodynamics, and statistical mechanics.
An Introduction to Quantum Optics and Quantum Fluctuations by Peter W. Milonni
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019-03-25
This is an introduction to the quantum theory of light and its broad implications and applications. A significant part of the book covers material with direct relevance to current basic and applied research, such as quantum fluctuations and their role in laser physics and the theory of forcesbetween macroscopic bodies (Casimir effects). The book includes numerous historical sidelights throughout, and approximately seventy exercises. The book provides detailed expositions of the theory with emphasis on general physical principles.
Relativistic Celestial Mechanics of the Solar System by Sergei Kopeikin; Michael Efroimsky; George Kaplan
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
This authoritative book presents the theoretical development of gravitational physics as it applies to the dynamics of celestial bodies and the analysis of precise astronomical observations. In so doing, it fills the need for a textbook that teaches modern dynamical astronomy with a strong emphasis on the relativistic aspects of the subject produced by the curved geometry of four-dimensional spacetime.
Relativity in Modern Physics by Nathalie Deruelle; Jean-Philippe Uzan; Patricia de Forcrand-Millard (Translator)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-10-30
This comprehensive textbook on relativity integrates Newtonian physics, special relativity and general relativity into a single book that emphasizes the deep underlying principles common to them all, yet explains how they are applied in different ways in these three contexts.
Statistical Physics and Thermodynamics: An Introduction to Key Concepts by Jochen Rau
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
This text provides a concise yet thorough introduction to the key concepts which underlie statistical physics and thermodynamics. It begins with a review of classical probability theory and quantum theory, as well as a careful discussion of the notions of information and entropy, prior to embarking on the development of statistical physics proper. The crucial steps leading from the microscopic to the macroscopic domain are rendered transparent. In particular, the laws of thermodynamics are shown to emerge as natural consequences of the statistical framework.
University Physics Volume 1 by Samuel J. Ling; Jeff Sanny; William Moebs
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
This first volume in a three-volume textbook series covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. It emphasizes connections between between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

Physics

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120