Drama and Theater

The American Variety Stage is a multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini. Groups of theater posters and additional sound recordings will be added to this anthology in the future.

Black Theatre Matters is a program of Plowshares Theatre Company. Black Theatre Matters covers trending topics in the theatre featuring experts across art form. It is designed to be a liberal arts resource dedicated to supporting, documenting and celebrating the achievements of Black theatre artists throughout the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.

The online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English since the production of Look Back in Anger in 1956. doollee.com contains information on 56,107 Playwrights and 190,307 of their Plays.

Early Modern London Theatres (EMLoT) is a research database and educational resource that grew out of a collaboration between the Records of Early English Drama (REED) at the University of Toronto, the Department of Digital Humanities (DDH) at King's College London, and the Department of English at the University of Southampton. EMLoT and its associated Learning Zone have been funded by the UK's Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC), the British Academy (BA), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC).

This exhibition explores the many ways Greek drama was interpreted by ancient Greek artists, whose works are frequently the only surviving evidence of the performing arts in antiquity. A wide variety of objects — including sculptures, painted vases, and a rare fragmentary papyrus — brings to life the rich history of ancient Greek theater.

Step on stage with the world’s most amazing performers and immerse yourself in 360º shows.

The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public. It may contain video, images, and information about theater productions.

IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

The Federal Theatre Project was the largest and most ambitious effort mounted by the Federal Government to organize and produce theater events. It was an effort of the administration of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt to provide work for unemployed professionals in the theater during the Great Depression which followed the stock market crash of October 1929. The Federal Theatre Project was one of four (subsequently five) arts-related projects called Federal Project Number One, established under the Works Progress Administration (WPA) during Roosevelt's first term.

Searchable databases and catalogs from the Library of Congress.

The Lortel Archives, also known as the Internet Off-Broadway Database, provide a catalogue of shows produced Off-Broadway.

Offers a comprehensive, annotated list of web resources on theatre and drama sorted by topic.

Information on props and prop making.

Records of Early English Drama (REED) is an international scholarly project that is establishing for the first time the context from which the drama of Shakespeare and his contemporaries grew. For over forty years, REED has worked to locate, transcribe, and edit historical documents containing evidence of drama, secular music, and other communal entertainment and ceremony from the Middle Ages until 1642, when the Puritans closed the London theatres. Along with twenty-seven collections of records in print, REED is building a dynamic collection of freely available digital resources for research and education. Its digital publication site, REED Online, launched in March 2017.

SIBMAS is the International Association of Libraries, Museums, Archives and Documentation Centres of the Performing Arts. They promote research in the performing arts, facilitate networking among our members and share resources about their specific collections and the performing arts in general.

Resource for entertainment technology and history.

Thousands of links to theatre resources put into searchable categories.

A ton of information about costume design, cloth, dress, patterns, and portraits from the Elizabethan era.

Explore fashion – historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos – from more than 30 European public and private institutions.

Search results for costume and costume design from the Getty.

Explore over 400 stories of what we wear by curators from leading institutions across the world.

Absolute Shakespeare, the essential resource for William Shakespeare's plays, sonnets, poems, quotes, biography and the legendary Globe Theatre.

American Shakespeare Center illuminates the plays of Shakespeare and his contemporaries, classic and new, refreshing the individual, fostering civil discourse, and creating community in the Blackfriars Playhouse and beyond.

Folger Shakespeare Library is the world’s largest Shakespeare collection, the ultimate resource for exploring Shakespeare and his world.

The best Shakespeare source for plays, news, reviews, and discussion.

The Royal Shakespeare Company at Stratford-upon-Avon is an ensemble company. Under the Explore Tab are categories such as Shakespeare's Life, Shakespeare's Work, Our Collection, Our Past Productions, and Behind the Scenes.

Amanda Mabillard maintains Shakespeare Online which includes the full text of Shakespeare's works, articles discussing Shakespeare's works, information about his life, book reviews on books relating to Shakespeare, and sources for Shakespeare' works.

You'll find here collected links from all over the World Wide Web to help you discover William Shakespeare.