Learning Resources Division: Respiratory Therapy: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for respiratory therapy books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

QM - Human Anatomy

QP - Physiology

R - Medicine (General)

RB - Pathology

RC - Internal Medicine

RF - Otorhinolaryngology

RJ - Pediatrics

RM - Therapeutics, Pharmacology

RT - Nursing

RX - Homeopathy

RZ - Other Systems of Medicine

Recommended Books

Mosby's Respiratory Care Equipment by Cairo Pilbeam; J. M. Cairo; Susan P. Pilbeam
Call Number: RC735.I5 R4728 1999
ISBN: 0815121482
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
The leading resource for more than two decades, this new edition of this title features a new, in-depth clinically oriented focus with thorough explanations of how equipment is used by respiratory care practitioners.
Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology by Andrew B. Lumb; Ronald G. Pearl (Foreword by)
Call Number: QP121 .N75 2005
ISBN: 0750687916
Publication Date: 2005-09-02
The definitive text on the principles and applications of respiratory physiology-back in a fully revised and updated New Edition! Readers will find crucial management guidance on all the conditions they see in practice with its comprehensive, clinically oriented descriptions of lung function in health, disease, and altered conditions and environments.
Rau's Respiratory Care Pharmacology - Pageburst e-Book on VitalSource (Retail Access Card) by Douglas S. Gardenhire
Call Number: RM388 .R383 2008
ISBN: 9780323032025
Publication Date: 2007-10-24
An authoritative test that provides essential, need-to-know information about respiratory pharmacology in a readily understandable format.
The Respiratory System by David Petechuk
Call Number: RC731 .P485 2004
ISBN: 0313324344
Publication Date: 2004-08-30
Beginning with a discussion of the various components of the respiratory system, this volume of the Encyclopedia of the Human Body discusses the functions of each organ and how they work together to allow us to breathe. Respiration is discussed both externally (breathing) and internally at the cellular level. The cardiovascular, nervous, and muscular systems are discussed in relation to the respiratory system.

Recommended E-Books

Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care by Julianne Perretta
ISBN: 0803641087
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This work helps the reader easily grasp the background, pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, management and treatment, and the course and prognosis of each disease. In every chapter, unfolding case studies with full-color illustrations and photographs enhance the reader's critical-thinking skills, making it easy to connect theory with practice.
Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing by Terry Robinson (Editor); Jane Scullion (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199226238
Publication Date: 2009-03-15
The Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing offers the reader a systematic account of the main respiratory diseases found in adults, and covers the assessment, diagnosis, and nursing management of these diseases. It also covers pharmacological and non-pharmacological therapies, and discusses the roleof the multidisciplinary respiratory team.

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

Respiratory Therapy

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

Recommended E-Books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120