Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Respiratory Therapy: Finding Articles

Respiratory Therapy is a healthcare specialty treating cardiopulmonary disorders and diseases.

Scholarly Materials

All of the article databases help you find "scholarly" materials. (See the Scholarly vs. Popular tab for more information.) For college-level work you MUST use materials that are considered scholarly. The library helps you do this by giving you access to the databases your professors and instructors want you to use.

Finding Newspaper Articles

We have a few database in which you can search for newspaper articles:

Article Databases

It is not possible to find individual articles in magazines, journals and newspapers in the library catalog. To do this you should use an article database. This is what you should know about how databases are organized and accessed:

  • The library buys many different article databases for you to use — to retrieve pertinent results you need to pick an appropriate database to search.
  • Article databases are organized around a particular subject area (i.e., Nursing, Art and Architecture, Sociology, etc) or are organized around an academic area (e.g., Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences).
  • Some of the databases provide full-text access to all of the articles indexed in the database and some provide a mix of citation and abstract information and full-text.
  • Almost all of our article databases are proprietary. This means only students, faculty and staff of UDC can use them.

 

All of the article databases can be used off-campus — all you need is your registered UDC ID card and access to the internet.

Finding Article Databases:

A to Z List: Each database (and other web-based resources) are listed alphabetically by title.

Subject List: Databases are grouped by the subject area that they cover.

These links are also found on the library's home page.

Some Useful Databases

This is a short list of article databases that are particularly useful for undergraduates.

Academic Search Premier This is a very large and general database that covers multiple subject areas. It provides some full-text access.

Project MUSE Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Sociological Abstracts International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Subject Guide

Christopher Anglim's picture
Christopher Anglim
Contact:
Building 39, Room B019
Van Ness Campus
202-274-5843