Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide highlights recommended books, journals, databases and websites on Respiratory Therapy accessible to University of the District of Columbia (UDC) faculty, staff, and students)
Recommended Print Monographs
Mosby's Respiratory Care Equipment by
Call Number: RC735.I5 R4728 1999
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
The leading resource for more than two decades, this new edition of this title features a new, in-depth clinically oriented focus with thorough explanations of how equipment is used by respiratory care practitioners.
Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology by
Call Number: QP121 .N75 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-02
The definitive text on the principles and applications of respiratory physiology-back in a fully revised and updated New Edition! Readers will find crucial management guidance on all the conditions they see in practice with its comprehensive, clinically oriented descriptions of lung function in health, disease, and altered conditions and environments.
The Respiratory System by
Call Number: RC731 .P485 2004
Publication Date: 2004-08-30
Beginning with a discussion of the various components of the respiratory system, this volume of the Encyclopedia of the Human Body discusses the functions of each organ and how they work together to allow us to breathe. Respiration is discussed both externally (breathing) and internally at the cellular level. The cardiovascular, nervous, and muscular systems are discussed in relation to the respiratory system.
Recommended Electronic Mongraphs
Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This work helps the reader easily grasp the background, pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, management and treatment, and the course and prognosis of each disease. In every chapter, unfolding case studies with full-color illustrations and photographs enhance the reader's critical-thinking skills, making it easy to connect theory with practice.
Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing by
Publication Date: 2009-03-15
The Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing offers the reader a systematic account of the main respiratory diseases found in adults, and covers the assessment, diagnosis, and nursing management of these diseases. It also covers pharmacological and non-pharmacological therapies, and discusses the roleof the multidisciplinary respiratory team.
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, is the most comprehensive resource for the allied health fields, including respiratory therapy.
Health & Medical Collection
This database provides comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics such as Respiratory Therapy.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
This database provides reliable and comprehensive coverage in the fields of allied health, including Respiratory Therapy, including journals, videos, dissertations, reference books.
American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC)
The AARC is the leading national and international professional association for the respiratory profession.
American Lung Association
Best known source for lung health, education, research, and advocacy.
American Thoracic Society
Nonprofit organization dedicated toimproving care for those suffering from pulmonary diseases.
Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (COARC)
COARC is an accreditation agency for respiratory care professionals.
The COPD Foundation is an organization concerned with fighting Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), a preventable and treatable disease. The Foundation seeks to promote innovations that will make treatment more effective and affordable, to undertake initiatives that result in expanded services for COPD patients, and improve the lives of patients with COPD and related disorders (through scientific research, education and awareness) that will lead to prevention and a stop in the progression of COPD.
Maryland/District of Columbia Society for Respiratory Care
The Maryland/District of Columbia Society for Respiratory Care provides support, educational opportunities, and legislative monitoring for the Respiratory Care profession and professionals in Maryland and the District of Columbia.
National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC)
The NBRC is the professional accrediting and credentialing agency for the respiratory care profession in every state in the United States.
One to Online
One to Online helps the reader explore career opportunities and employment trends in Respiratory Therapy.
a comprehensive guide of the licensing requirements for each state Board of Regulatory Care, along with Education Standards, exam study guides, national certification options, license maintenance requirements, and salary information.
Recommended Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Respiratory Medicine by
Call Number: Ref RC 732 .E53 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-05
An impressive four-volume work that provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of respiratory medicine.