Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Dictionary of Zoology by The most authoritative and up-to-date dictionary of its kind, the bestselling Oxford Dictionary of Zoology contains over 5,250 entries. Covering all aspects of the study of animals, it includes terms from the areas of ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography,genetics, and physiology. It provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.Fully revised and updated, this third edition includes new entries from the areas of behavioural ecology and conservation biology, as well as expanded coverage of cytology and numerous new illustrations. This edition contains many entry-level recommended web links, which are accessible via theDictionary of Zoology companion website and provide valuable extra information. Detailed appendices include information on endangered animals, the universal genetic code, the geologic time scale, and SI units. Wide-ranging and with jargon-free definitions, this dictionary is an indispensable reference tool for students and teachers of zoology, biological sciences and biomedical sciences, and a valuable resource for naturalists.
Call Number: QL9 .D53 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-28
Biological Science by This text combines research-focused storytelling with the Socratic method to get students to think like practicing scientists. Each page of the book is designed in the spirit of active learning, asking students to apply critical thinking skills as they learn key concepts.
Call Number: QH308.2 .F73 2008
Publication Date: 2009-12-30
Concepts in Biology by Enger/Ross/Bailey: Concepts in Biology is a relatively brief introductory general biology text written for students with no previous science background. The authors strive to use the most accessible vocabulary and writing style possible while still maintaining scientific accuracy.The text covers all the main areas of study in biology from cells through ecosystems. Evolution and ecology coverage are combined in Part Four to emphasize the relationship between these two main subject areas.The new, 12th edition is the latest and most exciting revision of a respected introductory biology text written by authors who know how to reach students through engaging writing, interesting issues and applications, and accessible level. Instructors will appreciate the book's scientific accuracy, complete coverage and extensive supplement package.
Call Number: QH308.2 .E54 2007
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Human Evolutionary Biology by Wide-ranging and inclusive, this text provides an invaluable review of an expansive selection of topics in human evolution, variation and adaptability for professionals and students in biological anthropology, evolutionary biology, medical sciences and psychology. The chapters are organized around four broad themes, with sections devoted to phenotypic and genetic variation within and between human populations, reproductive physiology and behavior, growth and development, and human health from evolutionary and ecological perspectives. An introductory section provides readers with the historical, theoretical and methodological foundations needed to understand the more complex ideas presented later. Two hundred discussion questions provide starting points for class debate and assignments to test student understanding.
Call Number: GN281 .H8477 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-29
Plant Biology by Plant Biology is a new textbook written for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students. It is an account of modern plant science, reflecting recent advances in genetics and genomics and the excitement they have created. The book begins with a review of what is known about the origins of modern-day plants. Next, the special features of plant genomes and genetics are explored. Subsequent chapters provide information on our current understanding of plant cell biology, plant metabolism, and plant developmental biology, with the remaining three chapters outlining the interactions of plants with their environments. The final chapter discusses the relationship of plants with humans: domestication, agriculture and crop breeding. Plant Biology contains over 1,000 full color illustrations, and each chapter begins with Learning Objectives and concludes with a Summary.
Call Number: QK45.2 .P575 2010
Publication Date: 2009-05-08
The DNA Learning Center (DNALC) is the world's first science center devoted entirely to genetics education and is an operating unit of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, an important center for molecular genetics research.
eNature.com is the web's premier destination for information about the wild animals and plants of the United States.
Index to Organism Names
ION is unique in that it is the most complete source of organism names available, which reflects the focus of published literature.
Biology is the science of life. Biology includes all the life sciences - for example, anatomy and physiology (the study of the structure of living things), cytology (the study of cells), zoology (the study of animals), botany (the study of plants), ecology (the study of habitats and the interaction of living species), animal behaviour, embryology, and taxonomy (classification), and plant breeding. Increasingly biologists have concentrated on molecular structures: biochemistry, biophysics, and genetics (the study of inheritance and variation). - The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
In this guide you will find lists of resources that are both appropriate and relevant to topics in biology.
You can navigate this guide use the tabs above to help you navigate to the kinds of resources that you're looking for.