This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry   Tags: chemistry, science  

Resources for UDC students
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2016 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/chemistry Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We Can Help!

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Contact us:

Chat

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

 

Chemistry News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

The study of the reactions between chemical species. There are three main branches of chemistry. Physical chemistry seeks to understand the physical basis for chemical change, based on chemical bonding, thermodynamics, and the study of equilibrium and chemical kinetics. Organic chemistry studies the behaviour of compounds of carbon; intimately related to this is the study of biochemistry, where the organic compounds are involved in life processes. The third major area of chemistry is inorganic chemistry, which studies all the other elements apart from carbon. A final subdivision that straddles the last two areas is organometallic chemistry, currently an area of intense research.

-From The Penguin Dictionary of Science

In this guide you will find lists of resources that are both appropriate and relevant to topics in chemistry.

You can navigate this guide use the tabs above to help you navigate to the kinds of resources that you're looking for.

Recommended Databases

This is a just a small list of all the databases available from the library for your chemistry research and assignments.

  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • JSTOR
    Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X.
  • ProQuest Science Journals
    With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features nearly 1,300 titles—most available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
  • ScienceDirect Physical Sciences College Edition
    More than 650 current journals in the areas of Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy, Engineering, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy from the leading full-text scientific database.
  • SciFinder
    CAS SciFinder Scholar is the premier chemistry database produced by the American Chemical Society.

    NOTE: Only ONE (1) user may access SciFinder at a time. Please log out when you have finished.

Recommended Websites

  • Chemdex
    Covers Chemistry Departments world-wide, associations, government agencies, laboratories, specific divisions of chemistry, databases, periodical table sites, commercial sites and links to other mega sites.
  • Chemical Information Sources
    Contains information resources divided into specific sections including publication/databases, reaction/synthesis information, physical properties information, patent and structure searching.
  • WebElements
    WebElements: the home of the periodic table on the web. WebElements aims to be a high quality source of information on the WWW relating to chemistry and the periodic table.

My Profile

Profile Image
Michael Fitzgerald
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Building 41, Room 201G
202-274-6387
Send Email
 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip