Learning Resources Division: Chemistry: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for chemistry books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

Q - Science (General)

QD - Chemistry

QD 1-65 - General (including alchemy)

QD 71-142 - Analytical chemistry

QD 146-197 - Inorganic chemistry

QD 241-441 - Organic chemistry

QD 415-436 - Biochemistry

QD 450-801 - Physical and theoretical chemistry

QD 625-655 - Radiation chemistry

QD 701-731 - Photochemistry

QD 901-999 - Crystallography

Recommended Books

Advanced Organic Chemistry by Valerie Coulter
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
The Bridge to Organic Chemistry: Concepts and Nomenclature by Claude H. Yoder; Phyllis A. Leber; Marcus W. Thomsen
Call Number: QD251.3 .Y63 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-09
Reviewing the fundamentals and carefully introducing the important new concepts, this text helps students smoothly bridge the gap to organic chemistry. Concise and carefully structured, it helps students strengthen their mastery of fundamental concepts from an introductory chemistry course and then introduces them to the new concepts of organic chemistry. The reader will review important concepts such as structural isomerism, Lewis formulas, hybridization, and resonance and understand their roles in modern organic chemistry; learn organic nomenclature along with the critical skill of "electron-pushing"; and explore mechanisms that utilize many of the key concepts.
Chemistry: The Central Science by Matthew Stoltzfus; Catherine Murphy; Patrick Woodward; Theodore Brown; H LeMay; Bruce Bursten
Call Number: QD31.3 .C43145 2018
Publication Date: 2017-01-04
This book has been a leading general chemistry text for more than a decade. The text increases conceptual understanding and leads to greater student success in general chemistry by building on the expertise of the dynamic author team of leading researchers and award-winning teachers.
Chemistry in Quantitative Language: Fundamentals of General Chemistry Calculations by Christopher O. Oriakhi
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022-01-12
Problem-solving is one of the most challenging aspects students encounter in general chemistry courses, leading to frustration and failure. This book tackles this issue head on and provides innovative, intuitive, and systematic strategies to tackle any type of calculations encountered in chemistry.
College Practical Chemistry by H. N. Patel
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Handbook of Sample Preparation by Janusz Pawliszyn (Editor); Heather L. Lord (Editor)
Call Number: QD75.4.S24 H36 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
This book shows why sample preparation deserves closer scientific scrutiny, and makes a compelling case for colleges and professional laboratories to devote more resources to promote the benefits of its correct application. An excellent primer on the fundamentals of extraction as well as a sound guide on the latest technological upgrades influencing current sampling techniques, this versatile text serves as an important and accessible tool for both students and seasoned practitioners as they seek new avenues for improving the accuracy of their analyses.
Introductory Chemistry by Julia Burdge; Michelle Driessen
Call Number: QD33.2 .B8655 2020
Publication Date: 2018-09-01
A general chemistry textbook that presents an atoms‐first approach specific to introductory chemistry
Introductory Chemistry by Steven S. Zumdahl; Donald J. DeCoste
Call Number: QD33.2 .Z863 2015
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Capturing student interest through early coverage of chemical reactions, accessible explanations and visualizations, and an emphasis on everyday applications, the authors explain chemical concepts by starting with the basics, using symbols or diagrams, and conclude by encouraging students to test their own understanding of the solution. The book is known for its focus on conceptual learning and for the way it motivates students by connecting chemical principles to real-life experiences in chapter-opening discussions and "Chemistry in Focus" boxes.
Neither Physics nor Chemistry by Ana Simões; Kostas Gavroglu; Ana Simões
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2011-10-07
Quantum chemistry--a discipline that is not quite physics, not quite chemistry, and not quite applied mathematics--emerged as a field of study in the 1920s. In this text, the authors examine the evolution of quantum chemistry into an autonomous discipline, tracing its development from the publication of early papers in the 1920s to the dramatic changes brought about by the use of computers in the 1970s. The authors focus on the culture that emerged from the creative synthesis of the various traditions of chemistry, physics, and mathematics. They examine the concepts, practices, languages, and institutions of this new culture as well as the people who established it.
Organic Chemistry Study Guide by Robert J. Ouellette; J. David Rawn
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-04-30
This book features hundreds of problems from the companion book, Organic Chemistry, and includes solutions for every problem. Key concept summaries reinforce critical material from the primary book and enhance mastery of this complex subject.
Physical Inorganic Chemistry: Principles, Methods, and Models by Andreja Bakac (Editor)
Call Number: QD475 .P49 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-19
This book contains the fundamentals of physical inorganic chemistry, including information on reaction types, and treatments of reaction mechanisms. Additionally, the text explores complex reactions and processes in terms of energy, environment, and health. This valuable resource closely examines mechanisms, an under-discussed topic. Divided into two sections, researchers, professors, and students will find the wide range of topics, including the most cutting edge topics in chemistry, like the future of solar energy, catalysis, environmental issues, climate changes atmosphere, and human health, essential to understanding chemistry.
Techniques in Inorganic Chemistry by Jr. , John P. Fackler (Editor); Larry R. Falvello (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2010-07-16
This book assembles a collection of articles from international experts who describe modern methods used by research students and chemists for studying the properties and structures of inorganic chemicals.

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

Chemistry

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120