Wealth of a Culture: A Celebration of Resiliency and Soul in CommunityThe story of Petey Greene was a movie waiting to be made. Greene came out of prison to become, literally overnight, a popular and influential DJ. He was on WOL, a Washington, D.C., station that was looking for a morning man to connect with its African-American audience and got more than it bargained for. Don Cheadle gives a fascinating performance as a man able to step out of a cell and into a broadcast booth, but not sure where to step next.
Time: Doors Open @ 6 p.m. Film – Starts @ 6:30 p.m.
Location: Bertie Backus Auditorium (5171 South Dakota Ave NE)
Family resilience is a dynamic process in which families successfully cope with or adapt to adverse events or conditions that place them at risk for poor outcomes. This occurs when families use family, individual, and community resources that compensate for or assist in the recovery from adverse events to achieve positive outcomes. Research has examined the impact of common risk factors, for example, physical or mental illness, disability, substance abuse, normative transitions, and disasters, and the benefits from protective factors such as positive family functioning, spiritual beliefs, or supportive resources outside the family. Family resilience‐based treatment approaches assess interactions between risk factors and available protective factors and focus on interventions that enhance protective factors.
Family resilience is a process in which families successfully cope with or adapt to adversity and consequently become more resourceful and confident. It is a dynamic process rather than a family trait or outcome. It refers to a family's ability to overcome the impact of acute or chronic stressors, life transitions, or multiple stressors over time. Specific methods for accomplishing family resilience vary, both between families and for the same family at different times, because resilience is influenced by the type and level of adversity, family developmental stage, family coping and problem‐solving abilities, and available resources. Therefore, the family resilience process occurs when available family, individual, and community factors help families manage or recover from the impact of adverse events. Such factors are labeled protective factors. These concepts have influenced family resilience‐based treatment approaches to enhance families' ability to successfully cope or adapt.
Coyle, James P. "Family Resilience." The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies, edited by Constance L. Shehan, Wiley, 1st edition, 2016.
Laugh If You Like, Ain't a Damn Thing Funny by 
Beauty Shop Politics by 
The Billion Dollar BET by 
Black Community Uplift and the Myth of the American Dream by 
Black Families at the Crossroads by 
Black Lives Matter and Music by 
The Black Urban Community by 
Business of Black Power by 
Chocolate City by 
It's Been Beautiful by 
Palaces for the People by 
Post Black: How a New Generation Is Redefining African American Identity by 
Race, Class, and Politics in the Cappuccino City by 
Sweetwater by 
Unfinished Business by 
Collection from Duke University contains more than 7,000 advertisements from print magazines and newspapers, published from the 1910s to the 1950s, primarily in the U.S. and Canada. Content focuses on five areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty/hygiene, and World War II.
A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920. A full text database of these 19th and early 20th- century titles, this digital library is keyword-searchable.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more.
Formerly American Memory, this provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
With approximately 10 million photos accessible, the LIFE magazine archive is a rich resource for anyone seeking images relating to U.S. history and world events. Names of photographers and the dates that photos were taken are identified.
The Living Room Candidate presents video advertising for presidential candidates—Democrat, Republican, and significant third party, when applicable—from 1952 to the present. Accompanying descriptive matter places the ads in context. Transcripts of the ads are included, along with full credits and production information. Numerous commercials are available for each election year, plus text overviews of campaign years, information on party nominees, and election results.
This database consists of images of those posters covering social protest movements such as Anarchism, Civil Liberties, Colonialism, Communism, Ecology, Labor, Pacifism, Sexual Freedom, Socialism, Women, and Youth/Student Protest. Some are from the first half of the 20th century, but the majority are from the 1960s and later.
