Learning Resources Division: Nonprofit Management: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for books related to nonprofit management, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

HD 62.2-62.8 - Management of Special Enterprises

HD 2709-2930.7 - Corporations

HF 5601-5689 - Accounting, Bookkeeping

Recommended Books

21st Century Skills for Non-Profit Managers: A Practical Guide on Leadership and Management by Don Macdonald
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-10-26
This book covers essential aspects of nonprofit management, including staffing, communications, charity governance, donations, corporate social responsibility, and crowdfunding. With useful case studies, resources and links, it avoids jargon and intellectualizing. Topics include effective business planning, empowering staff and clients, and writing successful fundraising applications.
Financial and Strategic Management for Nonprofit Organizations, Fourth Edition by Herrington J. Bryce
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-01-23
This title provides an encyclopedic account of all the key financial, legal, and managerial issues facing nonprofit executives. It is a single-source text and reference for managing any nonprofit organization. Designed for both professional and graduate student readers, this work thoroughly addresses all key aspects of building managerial skill and promoting imagination and innovation in organizations across the nonprofit spectrum.
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management by David O. Renz
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-08-10
The go-to nonprofit handbook, updated and expanded for today's leader. This handbook presents the most current research, theory, and practice in the field of nonprofit leadership and management. This practical, relevant guide is invaluable to the effective practice of nonprofit leadership and management, with expanded attention to accountability, transparency, and organizational effectiveness. It also extensively covers the practice of social entrepreneurship, presented via an integrative perspective that helps the reader make practical sense of how to bring it all together.
Marketing for Nonprofit Organizations: Insights and Innovations by Grau, Stacy Landreth
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2021
This book provides an in-depth overview of marketing methods for anyone working in or looking to start a nonprofit or social impact organizations. The book includes key topics within marketing for small- and medium-sized organization, including brand strategy, social media, market research, target audience selection, promotional tactics, and market valuation.
The Nonprofit Human Resource Management Handbook by Jessica K. A. Word (Editor); Jessica E. Sowa (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-06-26
These authors offer a comprehensive look at theories and trends, legal and ethical issues, management, labor relations, and training and appraisal; as well as topics in diversity, technology, and paid versus volunteer workforce management. This essential handbook offers all core topic coverage as well as countless insider insights, additional resource lists, and tool sets for practical application.
Nonprofit Management: Principles and Practice by Michael J. Worth
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
The author covers the scope and structure of the non-profit sector from leadership of non-profits to social entrepreneurship. Balancing research, theory and practitioner literature with current cases and examples, this edition includes new social networks and social media content, expanded discussions of risk management and updated chapters on financial management and fundraising.
The SAGE Handbook of Management Learning, Education and Development by Steven J. Armstrong (Editor); Cynthia Fukami (Editor); Steve J. Armstrong (Editor); Cynthia V. Fukami (Editor) The scholarship of management teaching and learning has established itself as a field in its own right, and this benchmark Handbookis the first to provide an account of the discipline. Original chapters from leading international academics identify the key issues and map out where the discipline is going. Each chapter provides a comprehensive and critical overview of the given topic area, highlights current debate, and reviews the emerging research agenda.
Call Number: HD30.4 .S235 2009
ISBN: 9781412935395
Publication Date: 2009-05-19
Starting and Managing a Nonprofit Organization by Bruce R. Hopkins
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-07-05
Written in plain English, not "legalese," this all-important guide provides essential guidance for those interested in starting nonprofits, as well as valuable advice for leaders of established organizations. It covers all aspects of federal and state nonprofit law and discusses significant contemporary issues, including commerciality, private benefit, governance, and unrelated business. The book also provides summaries of current IRS ruling policies Includes procedures and a glossary of legal terms for fail-safe compliance
Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations by John M. Bryson
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-12-13
This text is a comprehensive, practical guide to building and sustaining a more effective organization. Solid strategy is now more important than ever, and this book provides a clear framework for designing and implementing an effective and efficient planning process. From identifying stakeholders and clarifying a shared vision, to implementing plans and revising strategies, the discussion covers all aspects of the process.
Streetsmart Financial Basics for Nonprofit Managers by Thomas A. McLaughlin
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
The complete guide to the basics of nonprofit financial management. This comprehensive guide provides effective, easy-to-use tips, tools, resources, and analyses. It is an accessible resource for nonprofit executives, board members, students, and those new to the field. This book forgoes useless, pretentious verbiage in order to outline real-world strategies that work.

Candid E-books

Our participation in Candid allows you to create an account in their Overdrive library giving you access to hundreds of e-books and audio books related to non-profits, grant writing, fundraising, and more.

Candid E-books

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

Nonprofit Management

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

Candid E-books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120