Awesome Tapes from Africa
This is music you won’t easily find anywhere else—except, perhaps in its region of origin.
Folkstreams
The films on Folkstreams were produced by independent filmmakers. These documentaries focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities. The filmmakers were driven more by sheer engagement with the people and their traditions than by commercial hopes. Their films have unusual subjects, odd lengths, and talkers who do not speak "broadcast English." Although the films won prizes at festivals, were used in college classes, and occasionally were shown on PBS, they found few outlets in video shops, commercial theaters, or television.
The Global Jukebox
The Global Jukebox is a growing space to connect with our deep heritage through the expressive arts of singing, dancing, and conversing from around the world.
Global Music Archive
The Global Music Archive is a resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americans. Hosted by Vanderbilt University, the Digital Collection of East African Recordings provides searching and browsing by region, language, ethnic group, and and musical instrument.
Internet Archive's Live Music Library
Internet Archive's Live Music library is a community committed to providing the highest quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format.
Library of Congress - National Jukebox
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
NPRMusic
Music coverage including news, reviews, interviews and streaming audio.
Pandora Internet Radio
With Pandora you can explore this vast trove of music to your heart's content. Just drop the name of one of your favorite songs, artists or genres into Pandora and let the Music Genome Project go. It will quickly scan its entire world of analyzed music, almost a century of popular recordings - new and old,
Recorded Sound Archives
Part of the Florida Atlantic Special Collections. The Recorded Sound Archives were originally established in 2002 as a small project dedicated to the preservation of recorded Jewish music, it has matured into a robust digitization operation for all types of sound recordings.
UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive
The UCSB Library invites you to discover and listen to its online archive of cylinder recordings; donate to help the collection grow; and learn about how these sounds and songs create an audio history of American culture.
YouTube
A great source for contemporary music, lyrics, and other vocal performances.
