Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Artcyclopedia editors have compiled a comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.
ArtHist.net is an international, non-commercial communication and information network for art historians and a member of Clio-online. ArtHis.net publishes discipline-specific, professional news from all fields of art history.
Their mission is to empower artists with the techniques, knowledge, ideas and inspirations that help ignite their visions and bring them to life. They create compelling print publications, online media, video education and real-time experiences.
Each day ArtsJournal features link to stories culled from around the internet, including blogs and more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about arts and culture
The Art Story
TheArtStory.org helps millions of people each year understand and enjoy every style of art, from Classical Greek statues, to Dali’s Surrealist concoctions, to Contemporary Conceptual explorations.
Booooooom was launched in 2008 by Vancouver-based artist Jeff Hamada. It is Canada’s highest traffic art platform, and one of the largest on the Internet. Over the last decade Booooooom has established itself as an authoritative voice in the new contemporary arts scene, highlighting emerging talents, and launching the careers of many young artists internationally.
As a community destination, deviantART is a platform that allows emerging and established artists to exhibit, promote, and share their works within a peer community dedicated to the arts. The site's vibrant social network environment receives over 100,000 daily uploads of original art works ranging from traditional media, such as painting and sculpture, to digital art, pixel art, films and anime.
The Getty Research Institute
Resources provided by The Getty Research Institute include the Art & Architecture Thesaurus, the Bibliography of the History of Art, as well as access to The Getty's digital collections.
Google Arts & Culture
Google Arts & Culture is a non-profit initiative. They work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Their mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Hosted by The Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection.
MoMA Learning is your destination for engaging with modern and contemporary art. It reflects the profound shift toward digital learning since the Museum launched its first curriculum website in 2006—a transition not only from print to digital, but towards customizable, interactive, self-guided, anytime-anywhere learning. MoMA Learning aggregates a wealth of content produced by the Museum and links to exemplary content from other sites, encouraging a thematic exploration of art and offering downloadable and customizable slideshows, worksheets, and many other resources for use in the classroom or for independent study.
post is The Museum of Modern Art’s online resource devoted to art and the history of modernism in a global context. It is the public face of Contemporary and Modern Art Perspectives (C-MAP), a cross-departmental, internal research program at MoMA that fosters the multiyear study of art histories outside North America and Western Europe.
My Modern Met
My Modern Met was formed in May, 2008 to create one big city that celebrates creativity. Their mission is to promote a positive culture by spotlighting the best sides of humanity—from the lighthearted and fun to the thought-provoking and enlightening.
Smithsonian Archives of American Art
The Archives today is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
Virtual Library for Art History
With arthistoricum.net, you can research the whole subject spectrum belonging to Art History, beginning with the Early Christian era up to the present.
Voice of the Shuttle
VoS is an extensive humanities database with many useful links to art history, modern and contemporary art resources, run by the University of California, Santa Barbara.
WikiArt: Visual Art Encyclopedia
WikiArt features some 250,000 artworks by 3,000 artists, localized on 8 languages. These artworks are in museums, universities, town halls, and other civic buildings of more than 100 countries.