Counseling: School Counseling Specialization

This text is grounded in developmental, ecosystemic, and career theories as a basis for career interventions. Considering the range of psychosocial, cognitive, and academic development spanning P-12 students, the authors review relevant developmental and career theories as a foundation for the design of sequential and developmentally appropriate career curricula and interventions. They provide information that helps school counselors and educators understand the ecosystemic influences on career development and discuss how and why to involve various stakeholders in their work with P-12 students.

Organized around theory, this book covers both clinical and school settings in the fields of psychology, counseling, and social work. Coverage of the latest thinking and practice includes Cognitive Behavioral, Rational-Emotive, Reality Therapy, Solution Focused, Family Systems, and Play Therapy, providing a complete resource for any mental health expert who works with young people.

This book highlights the nature of counseling youth and implementing interventions from a systemic perspective. This systemic perspective focuses on the multitude of issues and systems that impact youth and mental health, such as academic progress and achievement; emotional and behavioral problems; and overall behaviors that impact physical and emotional well-being. As these aforementioned issues are addressed, highlighted are the roles of various systems, including schools, mental health facilities, medical facilities, juvenile justice systems, and refugee services, as well as services geared to special populations, such as LGBT+ youth and undocumented immigrant minors.

This book provides school social workers, who provide services to children and adolescents with high rates of traumatic experiences, with concrete skills and current knowledge about trauma-informed services in school settings.

Written for an audience that includes private practitioners; counselors working in mental health centers, psychiatric hospitals, employee assistance programs, and other community settings; as well as counselor educators and their students, this helpful guide breaks down the concepts and terminology in the DSM-5 and explains how this diagnostic tool translates to the clinical situations encountered most frequently by counselors.

This unique, user-friendly text distills essential and up-to-date guidelines for students and practitioners of child and adolescent counseling. Featuring concise, step-by-step protocols supported by evidence-based practice, the book is organized in a logical sequence, from setting the stage for the counseling process to the essentials of active counseling.

Ethical predicaments are endemic for mental health professionals working in schools. New interventions, evolving technologies, and a patchwork of ethical and legal guidelines create a constant stream of potential dilemmas. The seven-step model presented in this book allows readers to apply a practical process to complex questions while both minimizing liability and protecting students.

Expressive arts therapies are a rich resource for use with children and adolescents, who are often unresponsive to traditional talk therapy, and highly useful to school counselors who must overcome cultural, language, and ability barriers that are increasingly present in diverse and multicultural school settings. The book presents 100+ interventions using creative and expressive arts counseling techniques in school settings.

Schools across the United States - as well as much of the world - are experiencing widespread change. Students are more diverse ethnically, academically, and emotionally. Within this changing landscape, cultural competence is imperative for school-based professionals, both ethically and as mandated by educational reform. The Handbook of Culturally Responsive School Mental Health explores the academic and behavioral challenges of an increasingly diverse school environment, offering workable, cost-effective solutions in an accessible, well-organized format.

The handbook provides thoughtful and provocative critiques of the science and practice of school mental health. It examines intervention science and implementation science and the study of professional development and stakeholder engagement. The volume outlines the relevant issues facing the field of school mental health and provides a framework for the areas of study. Chapters critique the science in a specific area, draw innovative connections between findings, and present new information about their area of expertise.

This text provides an array of ready-to-use, between-session assignments designed to fit virtually every therapeutic mode, featuring 75 ready-to-copy exercises covering the most common issues encountered in school settings, such as study and organizational skill deficits and academic motivation/underachievement, as well as "outside" issues such as blended families, divorce, substance abuse, teen pregnancy, and parenting skill deficits.

Despite being places with tremendous challenges for students and staff, schools are also places of solutions, strengths, and successes. This practical guide shows school social workers how to harness the solutions; filled with case examples, key points to remember, guidelines for reviewing resaerch,sample dialogue, and best practice tips, this book gives readers the essential tools to begin incorporating SFBT into their practice immediately.

The third edition of this widely adopted text covers the philosophical foundations and nuts-and-bolts of using solution-focused counseling to help preschool-12 students resolve problems. Dr. Murphy's practical and respectful approach has been successfully applied throughout the world by school counselors, counselors-in-training, psychologists, social workers, teachers, administrators, and clinicians who work with young clients. His empowering techniques help students focus on doing what works as simply and efficiently as possible by using their strengths, resources, wisdom, and feedback.

This book helps parents, school counselors, and administrators get teens thinking about--and interested in--their future careers. It shows how to guide teens along on this journey, and how to stick with them until they reach the goals they've set. From helping them discover just what it is they're interested in, to finding the institution that will help them flourish and setting out a clear "plan of attack," this book provides invaluable insight from an expert in student success.