Learning Resources Division: Elementary Education: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

LB 1025-1050.75 – Teaching (principles and practice)

LB 1050.9-1091 – Educational psychology

LB 1139.2-1139.5 – Early childhood education

LB 1141-1489 – Kindergarten

LB 1501-1547 – Primary education

LB 1555-1602 – Elementary or public school education

LC 8-6691 – Special aspects of education

Recommended Books

Balanced Literacy Essentials by Michelann Parr; Terry Campbell
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
Balanced Literacy Essentials shows teachers how to create a literacy program that balances the components of language arts with the power of meaningful interaction with students. Based on the latest learning theories, this timely resource is full of simple ways teachers can nurture meaningful reading, writing, and talk in today's classroom. The book provides an overview of reading instruction, techniques for supporting writers; and poetry, storytelling, and drama activities.
Children's Ways with Science and Literacy by Maria Varelas (Editor); Christine C. Pappas (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Science is often a forgotten subject in early elementary grades as various mandates require teachers to focus on teaching young students to achieve specific reading and mathematical competencies. This book offers specific examples and empirical evidence of how integrated science-literacy curriculum and teaching in urban primary-grade classrooms give students opportunities to learn science and to develop positive images of themselves as scientists.
Creating Safe and Supportive Learning Environments: A Guide for Working with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning Youth and Families by Emily S. Fisher (Editor); Karen Komosa-Hawkins (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013-04-17
The importance of creating safe spaces for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) students in the school environment cannot be overstated. It is one of the most prominent issues facing school professionals today, and its success has lasting, positive effects on the entire student body. Drawing on the expertise of researchers and practitioners, this book provides a comprehensive examination of the topics most relevant for school professionals.
Differentiation in the Elementary Grades by Kristina J. Doubet; Jessica A. Hockett
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-10-24
In this comprehensive resource for elementary school teachers, the authors explore how to use differentiated instruction to help students be more successful learners -- regardless of background, native language, learning preference, or motivation.
Guided Math: A Framework for Mathematics Instruction by Laney Sammons
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019-03-22
This instructional math framework provides an environment for mathematics that fosters mathematical thinking and understanding while meeting the needs of all students. This updated math resource takes an innovative approach to mathematics instruction and uses the same teaching philosophies for guided reading. Educators will learn how to effectively utilize small-group and whole-group instruction, manipulatives, math warm-ups, and Math Workshop to engage K-12 students in connecting mathematics to their own lives.
History in the Early Years by Hilary Cooper
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
History in the Early Years is an innovative and accessible guide to helping young children explore the past through their environment, family history and story. This fully revised edition includes guidance on introducing children to the past at the Foundation Stage in school and pre-school settings. Throughout it shows how the requirements of the early years curriculum can be met in innovative ways, and is fully illustrated by case study examples of children's learning and also supported by recent research.
Self-Study and Inquiry into Practice by Linda R. Kroll
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-03-07
One of the most important factors in making sure that all children achieve well is widely regarded to be a well-prepared teacher and this is particularly the case for those who teach in urban settings. There are new pressures and familiar pressures on teachers and teacher educators to prepare teachers who will be able to teach in a changing world, and who will be able to change the world. This book describes a stance and pedagogy for helping young teachers to be successful in the most challenging of circumstances.
The Write Thing by Kwame Alexander
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-07-02
With more than 10 years of experience conducting writing workshops in schools, Alexander shows how to shake up the "traditional" writing workshop and make writing fun again! The Write Thing teaches you how to move students step-by-step from ideas, to drafts, to finished works. Not only will you successfully motivate your students to write, you'll take that motivation one step further by providing guidance on how to create student-driven publications of their work. The confidence students will attain when they see their writing authentically published will be off the charts!
The Writing Teacher's Companion: Embracing Choice, Voice, Purpose & Play by Fletcher, Ralph
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017
This book provides a practical and illuminating guide to writing workshop for both new and veteran teachers.

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

Elementary Education

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120