Learning Resources Division: Artificial Intelligence (AI) Help Guide: Library Resources on AI

Library Databases

Find online resources on artificial intelligence using recommended library databases. Because artificial intelligence intersects with so many disciplines, this is not a comprehensive list. Consult the library's A to Z Resource List for more databases.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers from publications that have been published, co-published, or co-marketed by ACM and other publishers.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more. This extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience.
Computing Database This link opens in a new window
The database includes over 430 titles, with over 350 available in full text. It includes product reviews, database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, and technology management.
Library Science Database This link opens in a new window
Library Science Database gives users full-text access to a selection of publications relevant to library and information science. It covers a range of titles and topics relevant to the theoretical and applied study of library science, including trade publications aimed at the library profession as well as scholarly journals.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
ProQuest Multiple Database Search This link opens in a new window
Searches all subscribed ProQuest databases at once.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
With coverage dating back to 1986, this database features nearly 1,300 titles—most available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
Science Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Subjects Covered: Acoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Artificial Intelligence, Atmospheric Sciences, Automatic Control, Chemistry, Communication & Info Technology, Computers, Construction, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Forestry, Genetics, Horticulture, Immunology, Limnology, Marine Biology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Paleontology, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Veterinary Medicine, Weed Sciences, Wildlife Management, Zoology.
Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. Topics include: computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, and radio and television.

Journals

Books

Artificial Intelligence in Society by Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Publication Date: 2019
The artificial intelligence (AI) landscape has evolved significantly from 1950 when Alan Turing first posed the question of whether machines can think. Today, AI is transforming societies and economies. It promises to generate productivity gains, improve well-being and help address global challenges, such as climate change, resource scarcity and health crises. Yet, as AI applications are adopted around the world, their use can raise questions and challenges related to human values, fairness, human determination, privacy, safety and accountability, among others. This report helps build a shared understanding of AI in the present and near-term by mapping the AI technical, economic, use case and policy landscape and identifying major public policy considerations. It is also intended to help co-ordination and consistency with discussions in other national and international fora.
Artificial Intelligence Research and Development by Z. Falomir (Editor); K. Gibert (Editor); E. Plaza (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
This book presents contributions from the 21st International Conference of the Catalan Association for Artificial Intelligence (Alt Empordà, Catalonia, Spain, 8-10th October 2018). The book aims to provide a picture of what is being achieved and what is under development in AI today. As such, its contents represent the diversity of approaches and applications currently being researched, but it also presents invited contributions which deal with some of the challenges that will have to be faced in the decade to come. The contributions included in this book are organized under the following headings: logic, satisfiability and fuzzy sets; classifiers, networks and machine learning; data science, recommender systems and case-based reasoning; natural language and sound processing; cognitive systems and agents; and computer vision and robotics. The book also covers a number of current AI challenges and new trends like big data, spatial problem solving, ethics and AI, and how blockchain impacts AI.
As If Human: Ethics and Artificial Intelligence by N. Shadbolt; R. Hampson
Publication Date: 2024
Despite increasingly sophisticated programming, artificial intelligences share none of our essential human characteristics-sentience, physical sensation, emotional responsiveness, versatile general intelligence. However, Nigel Shadbolt and Roger Hampson argue, if we assess AI decisions, products, and calls for action as if they came from a human being, we can avert a disastrous and amoral future. The authors go beyond the headlines about rampant robots to apply established moral principles in shaping our AI future.
Augmented Education in the Global Age: Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Learning and Work by P. Marber (Editor); D. Araya (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023
An edited collection that explores the social impact of Artificial Intelligence over the coming decades, specifically how this emerging technology will transform and disrupt our contemporary institutions. Chapters in this book discuss the history of technological revolutions and consider the anxieties and social challenges of lost occupations, as well as the evolution of new industries overlapping robotics, biotechnology, space exploration, and clean energy. Chapter authors unpack the nature of augmented education, from revamping curriculum and personalizing education, to redesigning workplace learning for an algorithmic era. Ultimately the book discusses policy and planning for an augmented future, arguing that work and learning are undergoing a metamorphosis around creativity and innovation amid a new global era and the race against automating technologies.
An Introduction to Ethics in Robotics and AI by C. Bartneck; C. Lütge; A. Wagner; S. Welsh
Publication Date: 2021
This open access book introduces the reader to the foundations of AI and ethics. It discusses issues of trust, responsibility, liability, privacy and risk. It focuses on the interaction between people and the AI systems and Robotics they use. Designed to be accessible for a broad audience, reading this book does not require prerequisite technical, legal or philosophical expertise. Throughout, the authors use examples to illustrate the issues at hand and conclude the book with a discussion on the application areas of AI and Robotics, in particular autonomous vehicles, automatic weapon systems and biased algorithms. A list of questions and further readings is also included for students willing to explore the topic further.
Understanding Artificial Intelligence by Nicolas Sabouret
Publication Date: 2021
Artificial Intelligence (AI) fascinates, challenges and disturbs us. There are many voices in society that predict drastic changes that may come as a consequence of AI - a possible apocalypse or Eden on earth. However, only a few people truly understand what AI is, what it can do and what its limitations are. Understanding Artificial Intelligence explains, through a straightforward narrative and amusing illustrations, how AI works. It is written for a non-specialist reader, adult or adolescent, who is interested in AI but is missing the key to understanding how it works. The author demystifies the creation of the so-called "intelligent" machine and explains the different methods that are used in AI. It presents new possibilities offered by algorithms and the difficulties that researchers, engineers and users face when building and using such algorithms. Each chapter allows the reader to discover a new aspect of AI and to become fully aware of the possibilities offered by this rich field.

Artificial Intelligence (AI) Help Guide

Library Databases

Journals

Books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-5104