Skip to main content

UDC Library

News & Events

UDC Library's Student Essay Contest
The UDC library, the Learning Resources Division, in celebration of National Library Week, is pleased to announce a student essay competition. The theme of the essay is “How Libraries Lead in Bridging the Digital Divide in American Society.”
New Resource! PrepStep
PrepStep features academic skill building, college placement test preparation, college and life skills tutorials, soft skills training, career advancement resources, professional licensing & certification test prep, basic computer skills training, & more.
New Resource! Associates Programs Source Plus
Associates Programs Source Plus is a comprehensive database designed specifically for community college students. It includes material related to all Associates Degree programs that UDC offers.
Tech Gym
Do you use Word, PowerPoint, and Excel? Do you know how to accomplish what you need to do, but wonder what other tools they contain that could help with your work? Visit our Tech Gym to work out your Word, PowerPoint and Excel muscles.
Rail Week
We invite you to participate in our final professional development week as RAIL! RAIL will soon become The Center for Advanced Learning (CAL).
Go to Blog

About LRD

Welcome!

2018 Student Essay Contest

Each year during National Library Week the UDC Library sponsors a student essay contest. On April 15, a Dell laptop computer was presented to Adayomi Adedeji, a sophomore at the Community College majoring in law enforcement. Attending the presentation this year were five contestants who shared their experiences in researching and writing on the topic "How Libraries Lead in Bridging the Digital Divide in American Society." A small reception followed. (Click link to enlarge.)

  • Center top (l-r): John Knight, Kevin Turcois, Sharon Stanley, Abayomi Adedeji
  • Center middle (l-r): Contest winner Abayomi Adedeji and essay committee chairperson Katie Inmon
  • Center bottom (l-r): LRD director Melba Broome; essay committee chairperson Katie Inmon; essay contestants John Knight, Kevin Turcois, and Sharon Stanley; contest winner Abayomi Adedeji; essay committee members Larry Williams and Christopher Anglim

come in we are open

Summer Semester Hours for UDC Library

Our normal hours of operation are Monday-Friday 8:00a.m.-8:00p.m.; Saturdays 8:00a.m.-4:30p.m. at our Van Ness campus.

Hours of operation at our 801 North Capitol UDC-CC campus are Monday-Friday 8:00a.m.-8:00p.m.; Saturdays 8:00a.m.-4:30p.m.

UDC featured in new DC Jazz book

Among the contributors to the new book DC Jazz: Stories of Jazz Music in Washington, DC (Georgetown University Press) are two professors from UDC. Professor Judith Korey of the music program wrote the chapter "From Federal City College to UDC: A Retrospective on Washington’s Jazz University," and Professor Michael Fitzgerald of the library wrote "Researching Jazz History in Washington, DC," which spotlights UDC's Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives among other area collections.

Fine Forgiveness - April 8 to 14

Take advantage of this exceptional opportunity to clear your library account of overdue fines during the week of April 8 to 14.

IMPORTANT RULES:

  • Please return overdue items directly to a staff member, so your account can be cleared and updated.
  • Do not return overdue items in the book drops this week.
  • Items returned after 6:30 pm on Saturday, April 14 will not be eligible.

We want you back as our patrons!

Prep Step

New Resource! PrepStep

Provides a comprehensive selection of academic and career-related resources. Includes these targeted learning centers: college success skills, core math and science skills review, core English skills review, career and workplace preparation, placement test preparation, ACT and SAT preparation, high school equivalency center, basic computer skills, and Spanish center.

treadmill

Tech Gym

Do you use Word, PowerPoint, and Excel? Do you know how to accomplish what you need to do, but wonder what other tools they contain that could help with your work? Come to our Tech Gym session to work out your tech muscles!

Archives Unbound

Digital Archives with Primary Source Materials

Includes collections on: The Civil War in Words and Deeds; "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:" Freedom Riders in the South, 1961; Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s; Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984; James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi; The Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation.

Success

New Resource!

Associates Programs Source Plus

map of internet

A Map of the Internet

A "map" of the internet, created by the Opte Project in 2005. Each of the color strands represent a domain type (such as .org, .mil, .gov) and country of origin.

Find Articles, Books, & more!

 

...or explore the full-text electronic collections in our A to Z Resource List.

You might also want to see our Index of Research Guides.

Try These Helpful Guides!

Foundation Center at UDC

The University of the District of Columbia (UDC) is a Funding Information Network partner of Foundation Center. The Funding Information Network is comprised of libraries, community foundations, NGOs, and nonprofit resource centers across the country and around the world. As a Funding Information Network partner, UDC provides free access to the most comprehensive information available on foundation and corporate giving. It features Foundation Center print and electronic resources as well as professional staff to assist visitors. Foundation Center electronic resources include, Foundation Directory Online, Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, and Foundation Maps.

Ask a Librarian!

We Can Help!

question mark icon

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

Today's Hours

title
Loading...