Learning Resources Division: Psychology: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

BF – Psychology

GN – Anthropology

HM 1001-1281 – Social psychology

HQ – The family

RC 435-571 – Psychiatry

Recommended Books

Cultural Psychology: Exploring Culture and Mind in Diverse Communities by Robyn M. Holmes
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020-02-13
The text is multidisciplinary and presents different perspectives on how culture shapes human phenomena. It provides an introduction to this field; covers the history of cultural psychology, cultural evolution, and cultural ecology; explains methods; and examines language and nonverbal communication, and cognition and perception.
Decolonial Feminist Community Psychology by Floretta Boonzaier (Editor); Taryn van Niekerk (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019-07-24
This edited volume seeks to critically engage with the diversity of feminist and post-colonial theory to counter hegemonic Western knowledge in mainstream community psychology. In doing so, it situates paradigms of thought and representation that capture the lived experiences of those in the global South. Specifically, the book takes an intersectional approach towards its reshaping of community psychology, centering African, black, postcolonial, and decolonial feminist critiques.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: Reference RC455.2.C4 .D536 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
The most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment by Ian Stuart-Hamilton
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2007-06-15
A handbook of references, terms and abbreviations related to neuroanatomy, psychology, medicine, experiments and therapies, and statistical processes.
Experimental Psychology: Ambitions & Possibilities by Davood Gozli (Editor); Jaan Valsiner (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022-11-29
This work brings together different perspectives on psychological methods and particularly methods involving experimentation. To encourage a reflective use of research methods, the authors illuminate the historical, philosophical, and scientific dimensions of methodology, providing both defenses and criticisms of experimental psychology. The primary audience of the work are students and researchers in psychological and behavioral sciences, who have an interest in methodology
Fundamentals of Developmental Psychology by Peter Mitchell; Fenja Ziegler
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This book addresses a number of fascinating questions including: Are children born good or bad? What do children understand about the mind? What roles do nature and nurture play in child development? The book follows a thematic approach and outlines the main areas of developmental psychology, including classic theories and studies, and offers a broad overview of contemporary research in the field.
The Handbook of Culture and Psychology by David Matsumoto (Editor); Hyisung C. Hwang (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019-06-19
This book describes the continued evolution and advancement of the main research domains of cultural and cross-cultural psychology. This volume covers standard areas of well-studied concepts such as development, cognition, emotion, personality, psychopathology, psychotherapy, and acculturation, as well as emerging areas such as multicultural identities, cultural neuroscience, and religion.
Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Psychological Counseling by Lisa Grayshield (Editor); Ramon Del Castillo (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020-06-23
Indigenous Counseling is based in universal principals/truths that promote a way to think about how to live in the world and with one another that extends beyond the scope of Western European thought. Individual health and wellness is intricately interwoven into the relationships that we establish on multiple levels in our lives, those that we establish with ourselves, with others, and with the external environments with which we live. From an Indigenous perspective, health and wellness in our individual lives, families, community and world, is the result of ancient knowledge that produces action in a way that is beneficial to all beings on the planet for generations to come.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Queer Psychology by Victoria Clarke; Sonja J. Ellis; Elizabeth Peel; Damien W. Riggs
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
This exciting and engaging textbook introduces students to the psychology of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and queer lives and experiences. It covers a broad range of topics including diversity, prejudice, health, relationships, parenting and lifespan experiences from youth to old age.
The Oxford Handbook of Human Development and Culture by Lene Arnett Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This book provides a comprehensive synopsis of theory and research on human development, with every chapter drawing together findings from cultures around the world. This includes a focus on cultural diversity within nations, cultural change, and globalization.
The Palgrave Handbook of Critical Social Psychology by Brendan Gough (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-05-19
This one-stop handbook is an indispensable resource for a range of academics, students and researchers in the fields of psychology and sociology, and particularly those with an interest in social identity, power relations, and critical interventions.
Theories in Educational Psychology by Alyssa R. Gonzalez-Dehass
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
This book's purpose is to introduce readers to the pioneering educational psychology theories that continue to shape our understanding of the classroom learning environment, present support for the theories from perspectives in the current research literature, and share how these theoretical traditions have translated into effective teaching methods.
The Wiley Handbook of Developmental Psychology in Practice by Kevin Durkin (Editor); H. Rudolph Schaffer (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
An authoritative new work exploring the themes of communication and implementation of research within developmental psychology, a scientific field with extensive real world value in addressing problems faced by individuals, families and services. It serves as a resource for developmental psychologists, practitioners working in the field of child development, and policymakers working on issues affecting children and families.

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

E-books

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

Psychology

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

E-books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120