Learning Resources Division: Rehabilitation Counseling: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

HV 40-69 – Social service; social work

HV 1551-3024 – People with disabilities

LC 3950-4806.5 – Exceptional children and youth; special education

RC321-571 – Neurosciences; biological psychiatry; neuropsychiatry

RM 695-893 – Physical medicine; physical therapy

RM 930-931 – Rehabilitation therapy

RM 950 – Rehabilitation technology

Recommended Books

Career Development, Employment, and Disability in Rehabilitation by David Strauser
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This text provides, from a rehabilitation perspective, comprehensive coverage of the dominant theories and techniques related to the occupational development, vocational behavior, and the organizational factors that impact the career development and employment of individuals with disabilities. It is designed for the CORE-mandated required course on employment and career development for the Master's Degree in rehabilitation counseling and for Licensed Professional Counselor certification.
Counseling Theories and Techniques for Rehabilitation and Mental Health Professionals (2nd Edition) by Fong Chan
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
A text about counseling theories and techniques developed specifically for upper-level rehabilitation counseling students and practitioners, this book is now fully updated with a focus on evidence-based practice. The book disseminates the expertise of many of the most esteemed leaders and academic scholars in rehabilitation counseling. These authors emphasize state-of-the-art scientific evidence that supports the effectiveness of various counseling approaches and techniques for people with and without disabilities.
Disability Across the Developmental Life Span by Julie Smart
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
This is the only text to provide comprehensive coverage of human growth and development, a requirement mandated by the Council of Rehabilitation Education (CORE) for a master's degree in rehabilitation counseling and for Licensed Professional Counselor certification. Written by an eminent leader in the field of disability studies, this book reflects a significant change in perceptions of individuals with disabilities from being defined foremost by their disability to being viewed as normal individuals with a disability. It provides an understanding of traditional human growth and development that will enhance the practice of disability counseling by enabling an understanding of a client's childhood and prior life experiences.
Families in Rehabilitation Counseling by Michael Millington; Irmo Marini
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2014-11-20
Presents an innovative family-based approach to rehabilitation counseling that can be put to use immediately While the family has traditionally been a secondary consideration in rehabilitation, this graduate text presents an innovative approach to rehabilitation counseling that focuses on the family as the center of a person-centered model, rather than as an adjunct to individual counseling. It advocates counseling in the context of community, requiring the recognition of social transaction as the primary focus of all interventions.
Handbook of Rehabilitation Psychology by Lisa A. Brenner
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
The field of rehabilitation has undergone major change, shifting toward an emphasis on health outcomes and understanding multiple determinants of health. The handbook has been significantly updated to reflect these new developments. Chapters address several core topics, such as education and training in rehabilitation psychology, competency-based practice, and fluctuating health policy. Additional chapters cover the assessment and treatment of specific health conditions, including chronic pain, acquired disability, spinal cord injury, traumatic brain injury, and amputation. This edition also includes information about artificial intelligence, virtual reality, public health, community rehabilitation, and other innovations in health care.
The Professional Practice of Rehabilitation Counseling by Maki; Vilia M. Tarvydas
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
This book reflects the new, accepted definition of rehabilitation counseling as a specialization within the field of counseling and demonstrates how the knowledge, skills and attitudes of rehabilitation counseling complement those of mental health counseling. The volume now includes an increased emphasis on education in general counseling, and mental health and substance abuse counseling; empirically supported practice; and a focus on the globalization of professional practice in rehabilitation counseling.
Supporting Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities & Mental Illness by Sherri Melrose
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015
This multidisciplinary resource develops topics of interest to all those who care about and for individuals with co-occurring intellectual disabilities and mental illness. Each chapter presents current evidence informed practice knowledge. Each topic is also presented with audio enabled text boxes emphasizing key points for caregivers.'

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

Rehabilitation Counseling

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120