This is the "Home" page of the "Economics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Economics  

the social science concerned chiefly with description and analysis of the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services
Last Updated: Nov 4, 2016 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/economics Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We Can Help!

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Contact us:

Chat

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

 

News from The Economist

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

 Economics focuses on how individuals, governments, businesses and nations decide how to allocate scarce resources to satisfy their unlimited wants. Economics is often divided into: macroeconomics, which concentrates on the behavior of the aggregate economy; and microeconomics, which focuses on individual consumers.


Two of the major approaches in economics are referred to as the classical and Keynesian approaches. Classical economists believe that markets function very well, will quickly react to any changes in equilibrium and that a "laissez faire" government policy works best.

Keynesian economists, however, believe that markets react very slowly to changes in equilibrium (especially to changes in prices) and that active government intervention is sometimes the best method to get the economy to return to equilibrium.

Recommended Databases

This is a just a small list of all the databases available from the library for your economics research and assignments.

  • ABI Inform
    ABI/INFORM is a business research database with full-text articles from business journals and newspapers.
  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • Business Source Elite
    Full text of business, management and economics journal literature, plus rich non-journal materials such as financial reports, etc. From 1985 to present.
  • JSTOR
    Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    News, business, government and law; business journals; broadcast transcripts; case law; law reviews; company information, etc.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
 

Recommended Books

Beyond the Invisible Hand: Groundwork for a New Economics - Kaushik Basu
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780691137162
Publication Date: 2011

The Economics of Enough: How to Run the Economy as if the Future Matters - Diane Coyle.
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780691145181
Publication Date: 2011

Economics Today: Macro View - Roger LeRoy Miller
Call Number: HB171.5 .M642 2011
ISBN: 9780132139465
Publication Date: 2011

Recommended Websites

  • American Economic Association
    Guide sponsored by the American Economic Association that lists more than 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics. Almost all resources are also described.
  • Economics Research Network (ERN)
    Contains a wide variety of information on marketing. Included are statistics, research resources, and terminology.
  • The Library of Economics and Liberty
    The Library of Economics and Liberty is dedicated to advancing the study of economics, markets, and liberty. It offers a unique combination of resources for students, teachers, researchers, and aficionados of economic thought.
  • US Economic Census
    Official measure of American business, and a good source of local industry data. The U.S. Census Bureau conducts an economic census every 5 years, as mandated by Title 13, U.S. Code. In late 2012, nearly five million businesses will receive 2012 Economic Census forms. All large and mid-size businesses will receive forms as well as a sample of the smallest establishments. Businesses will have the option to report on paper or electronically.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Christopher Anglim
Contact Info
Building 41, Second Floor
(202) 274-5843
Send Email
 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip