Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives

Past Events Fall 2016-Spring 2017

SEPTEMBER 2016

  • Thad Wilson, trumpetAllyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand--THAD WILSON

    Tuesday, September 20, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson presents an up close and personal session of conversation and performance featuring trumpeter, composer/arranger and band leader Thad Wilson. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • Jordon Dixon, saxART ALL NIGHT--Made in DC: Van Ness Main Street

    Saturday, September 24, 2016
    7:00 - 11:30 p.m.

    UDC's JAZZAlive joins Van Ness Main Street at the Acacia Bistro to celebrate ART ALL NIGHT--Made in DC with the UDC JAZZtet, featuring soulful tenor saxophonist Jordon Dixon.
    Acacia Bistro & Wine Bar: 4340 Connecticut Avenue at Yuma St., NW (202) 537-1040

  • Bill Doggett, organJAZZforum: Bill Doggett II presents "Celebrating 100 Years of Bill Doggett: Jazz Organ Pioneer 1916-2016"

    Wednesday, September 28, 2016
    7:00 p.m.

    Historian, lecturer, archivist, exhibition curator and filmmaker Bill Doggett II celebrates the legacy of his uncle, Bill Doggett one of the iconic jazz organ pioneers of the 1950s who opened the door for the Age of Jazz Organ that followed in the 1960s to present day. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

OCTOBER

  •  
  • stacks2016 Archives Fair: Transitions

    Wednesday, October 5, 2016
    10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

    In celebration of American Archives Month, archivists and experts from a wide array of institutions across the region (including the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives) will be on hand to share their collections, answer questions and discuss the challenges and opportunities they face every day. Sponsored by: Smithsonian Institution Archives and Special Collections Council, the Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference DC and Maryland Caucuses, and the National Archives Assembly.
    National Museum of American History: Coulter Performance Plaza and SC Johnson Conference Center 14th St and Constitution Ave, NW, Washington, DC 20560

  • Duke Ellington, pianoJAZZforum--Patricia Willard

    Wednesday, October 12, 2016
    7:00 p.m.

    Distinguished writer, photographer, historian, research consultant, archivist, lecturer and concert producer, Patricia Willard discusses her remarkable career with veteran jazz broadcaster and historian, Rusty Hassan.

    A renowned jazz specialist, Ms. Willard has served as Historical Consultant to the Duke Ellington Collection at the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Consultant in Jazz and Popular Music at the Library of Congress and consultant to the National Endowment for the Arts Music Program. She was in the unique position of serving as Ellington's research, editorial collaborator and public relations counsel during the last third of his life. In her 2010 JAZZforum: Dance--the Unsung Element of Ellingtonia presentation, she spoke about the connection between Duke Ellington and dance taken from her book-in-progress on Ellington's later years.

    Ms. Willard was also a contributing editor to Down Beat, Jazz and Jazz & Pop and columnist and staff writer at JazzTimes. She has conducted oral histories for the NEA Jazz Program, the Smithsonian and the Institute of Jazz Studies and has annotated more than 100 LPs, CDs and DVDs. Her articles and photos have appeared in Rolling Stone, The Village Voice, Billboard, the Los Angeles Times, Herald-Examiner and Daily News, the Antioch Review, the Library of Congress Performing Arts Annuals and many other publications internationally. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • saxophone bellJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles

    Tuesday, October 18, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson serve up an afternoon of original arrangements and compositions for your lunch hour enjoyment. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • Allyn Johnson, pianoJazz Concert: Allyn Johnson Ensemble

    Tuesday, October 25, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Allyn Johnson features selections from his new recording -- The Art of Becoming. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

NOVEMBER

  • A.B. Spellman, poetJAZZforum--A.B. Spellman

    Wednesday, November 9, 2016
    7:00 p.m.

    Renowned poet, music critic, music historian, arts administrator and author, A.B. Spellman discusses his extraordinary career with veteran jazz broadcaster and historian, Rusty Hassan. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • Lori Williams, vocalistAllyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand--LORI WILLIAMS

    Tuesday, November 15, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson presents an up close and personal session of conversation and performance featuring acclaimed vocalist, educator and recording artist, Lori Williams. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • saxophone bellJAZZ Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles

    Tuesday, November 22, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Join the jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson for our Thanksgiving celebration. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

DECEMBER

  • holiday wreathAnnual Holiday Concert

    Thursday, December 8, 2016
    7:30 p.m.

    The University of the District of Columbia presents its annual holiday gift to the Washington, D.C. community. The UDC Chorale directed by Richard Odom, starts the evening with a program of choral music followed by the gospel sounds of The Voices, directed by Gerry Gillespie. The UDC Jazz Ensemble directed by Allyn Johnson closes the program with big band jazz sure to spread the holiday spirit. UNIVERSITY AUDITORIUM (Theatre of the Arts--Bldg. 46-East)

FEBRUARY 2017

  • thumbnail imageJAZZforum--David Sager: "The First Jazz Recording"

    Wednesday, February 22, 2017
    7:00 p.m.

    Trombonist and jazz historian David Sager returns to JAZZforum to discuss the first jazz recording and the events leading up to and following that historic event in 1917. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • thumbnail imageAllyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand & Master Class--Duane Eubanks

    Monday, February 27, 2017
    2:00 p.m.

    Allyn Johnson invites award-winning trumpeter Duane Eubanks to share his expertise in a master class and in a session of conversation and performance. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • thumbnail imageJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles

    Tuesday, February 28, 2017
    12:30 p.m.

    Join the jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson for our Black History Month celebration. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

MARCH

  • thumbnail imageAllyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand--Dr. Arthur Dawkins

    Tuesday, March 21, 2017
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson presents an up close and personal session of conversation and performance featuring acclaimed musician, educator and prominent figure in the Washington D.C. music scene, Dr. Arthur Dawkins. His background and experiences include thirty years as Professor of Music and Director of Jazz Studies at Howard University. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • thumbnail imageAllyn Johnson and Meet the Artist in a Masterclass--Ralph Peterson

    Tuesday, March 28, 2017
    7:00 p.m.

    Allyn Johnson invites acclaimed musician, recording artist, and one of the most distinctive and recognizable drummers in jazz, Ralph Peterson, to share his expertise as a master drummer and educator. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • thumbnail imageJAZZforum--Bob Porter -- Soul Jazz and the Black Community, 1945-1975

    Wednesday, March 29, 2017
    7:00 p.m.

    Record producer, jazz writer and broadcaster Bob Porter discusses his new book Soul Jazz: Jazz in the Black Community, 1945-1975, which complies a history of jazz in the back community in the period from the end of World War II until the end of the Vietnam War. Book signing follows presentation. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

APRIL - JAM 2017 (Jazz Appreciation Month)@UDC

  • thumbnail imageJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles

    Tuesday, April 11, 2017
    12:30 p.m.

    Jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson celebrate Jazz Appreciation Month in a variety of flavors. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • thumbnail imageAllyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand

    Tuesday, April 18, 2017
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson curates a JAZZAlive series featuring performance and conversation. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • thumbnail imageJAZZforum--Paul Combs: "The Life and Music of Tadd Dameron"

    Wednesday, April 19, 2017
    7:00 p.m.

    Musician and educator Paul Combs is the author of Dameronia, the first authoritative biography of jazz great Tadd Dameron, an important and widely influential figure in jazz history and one of the most significant of composers and arrangers. Book signing will follow presentation. This JAZZforum is a prelude to Combs' concert of Dameron's music on the Take 5! Series at the Smithsonian's American Art Museum on April 20, 2017. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • thumbnail imageCalvin Jones BIG BAND Jazz Festival

    Monday, April 24, 2017
    8:00 p.m.

    The Calvin Jones BIG BAND Jazz Festival celebrates 31 years of world-class jazz at the University of the District of Columbia. The Big Band sound returns to UDC as the powerhouse jazz ensembles from the University of the District of Columbia (directed by Allyn Johnson), Howard University (directed by Fred Irby III) and the University of Maryland (directed by Chris Vadala) once again cap off Jazz Appreciation Month with a with a hand-clapping, finger-snapping, foot-stomping good time. Produced by UDC's Jazz Studies Program and the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, the festival began in 1987 as part of a citywide tribute to Duke Ellington, and it remains one of the most anticipated events on Washington, DC's jazz calendar. Scholarship Benefit Series. UNIVERSITY AUDITORIUM (Theatre of the Arts--Bldg. 46-East)

    Tickets are $20 (general admission), $15 (seniors), and $10 (students) and can be purchased in advance at the UDC Music Program, Building 46-West or online at InstantSeats.com.

JUNE - JAZZAlive at the DC Jazz Festival 2017

DC Jazz Festival | www.dcjazzfest.org

Since 2005, the DC Jazz Festival (DCJF) organization has provided enriching and entertaining jazz performances and programs that introduce students and adults from all walks of life to jazz, our nation's singular original art form. DCJF presents a selection of the jazz genre's most acclaimed artists as well as emerging artists, and provides enhanced exposure for the rich treasure trove of musicians from the Washington, DC area. Throughout the year, the DC Jazz Festival nourishes the community with free educational programs that extend our reach into underserved communities and enhance the quality of life for DC public and charter school students.

  • Allyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand -- NASAR ABADEY

    Thursday, June 8, 2017
    7:00 p.m.

    Join favorite pianist Allyn Johnson and acclaimed percussionist, bandleader, composer and educator Nasar Abadey for an up close and personal session of conversation and performance. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • JAZZAlive at UDC: NASAR ABADEY w/Allyn Johnson and the UDC JAZZtet

    Wednesday, June 14, 2017
    7:00 p.m.

    Percussionist extraordinaire Nasar Abadey joins pianist Allyn Johnson and the UDC JAZZtet for a soul-stirring evening of jazz. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • JAZZforum - Jazz Preservation, Education and Promulgation: Building a Network

    Thursday, June 15, 2017
    5:30 p.m.

    Inspired by Congressman John Conyers' H.R. 1682: National Jazz Preservation, Education, and Promulgation Act of 2015-2016, the panel continues the discussion with moderator Cedric Hendricks. Hendricks is the Executive Producer of the Jazz Issue Forum and Concert at the Annual Legislative Conference of the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-West)

  • 2nd Annual DC JazzPrix™ Competition Finals

    Thursday, June 15, 2017
    7:00 p.m.

    Join DC Jazz Fest and JAZZAlive for the 2nd Annual DCJazzPrix™ National Band Competition. The three semi-finalist ensembles will perform for our live audience followed by the 2016 DCJazzPrix winners - New Century Jazz Quintet. The 2017 winner will be announced that evening. The winning band will receive a cash award, professional development and visibility at 2018 JazzFest. UDC Theatre of the Arts (Performing Arts--Bldg. 46-East)