JAZZforum: YOU HAVEN'T DONE NOTHIN'—Film Screening and Discussion
Wednesday, September 13, 2017
7:00 p.m.
JAZZforum partners with DC Jazz Festival to present a film screening of MBowie and The Blast's: "You Haven't Done Nothin'." The film is a multimedia performance that through vibrant vocal & instrumental music explores themes of social justice and oppression. A panel discussion will follow the screening featuring Musical Director Michael Bowie, Lead Videographer Adili Ailixier, Executive Director Sunny Sumter and moderated by Willard Jenkins, DC Jazz Festival Artistic Director.
This project is made possible by the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities, Peter Gillon and Lisa Hook, the CrossCurrents Foundation; and in partnership with the University of the District of Columbia JAZZforum and Atlas Performing Arts Center.
LIBRARY AUDITORIUM (Arts & Sciences—Bldg. 41-A03)
Allyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand—Anthony Nelson
Tuesday, September 19, 2017
12:30 p.m.
Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson presents an up close and personal session of conversation and performance featuring saxophonist, composer/arranger and band leader Anthony Nelson.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
2017 Archives Fair: Performance and Preservation
Saturday, October 21, 2017
11:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
The Smithsonian Institution Archives and Special Collections Council, the Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference, District of Columbia and Maryland Caucuses, and the National Archives Assembly invite you to celebrate American Archives Month at the 2017 Archives Fair. Archivists and experts from a wide array of institutions across the region (including the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives) will be on hand to share their collections, answer questions and discuss the challenges and opportunities they face every day.
This year's theme - Performance and Preservation - highlights the ways in which the preservation of archival collections translates into the preservation of culture through the performance and artistry of individuals and communities across the United States and around the world.
National Museum of American History ● Coulter Performance Plaza and SC Johnson Conference Center ● 14th St and Constitution Ave, NW, Washington, DC 20560
More Info
Jazz Concert: Allyn Johnson Ensemble
Tuesday, October 24, 2017
12:30 p.m.
Pianist Allyn Johnson serves up one of the highlights of the Fall season.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Allyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand—Howard "Kingphish" Franklin, Jr
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
12:30 p.m.
Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson presents an exciting session of conversation and performance featuring DC's swingin' drummer, bandleader and UDC Jazz Studies Alumnus, Howard "Kingphish" Franklin, Jr.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Jazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles & Junior Recital—LaMarione Shepard, vocalist
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
12:30 p.m.
Vocalist and jazz studies major LaMarione Shepard presents her Junior Recital followed by a Thanksgiving celebration featuring the Small Jazz Ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Jazz Concert: Junior Recital —Samuel Munguia, piano
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
12:30 p.m.
Pianist, composer-arranger and jazz studies major Samuel Munguia presents his Junior Recital.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Annual Holiday Concert
Thursday, December 7, 2017
7:30 p.m.
The University of the District of Columbia presents its annual holiday gift to the Washington, D.C. community. The UDC Chorale directed by Richard Odom, starts the evening with a program of choral music followed by the gospel sounds of The Voices, directed by Gerry Gillespie. The UDC Jazz Ensemble directed by Allyn Johnson closes the program with big band jazz sure to spread the holiday spirit.
UNIVERSITY AUDITORIUM (Theatre of the Arts—Bldg. 46-East)
JAZZforum —Jeff Sultanof — Experiencing Big Band Jazz: A Listener's Companion
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
7:00 p.m.
Composer/arranger, music historian, and music editor Jeff Sultanof talks about his new book Experiencing Big Band Jazz: A Listener's Companion. Sultanof "takes a fresh look at Big Band music, examining why the Big Band era started when it did; how pop music changed to meet the needs of Big Bands and the reverse; the role played by well-known band leaders and the bands they led, the jazz soloists who became legendary, and the stories of several ensembles previously unexamined."
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Allyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand — Michael Bowie
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
12:30 p.m.
Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson presents a session of performance and conversation featuring bassist, composer, educator and recording artist Michael Bowie.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Jazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles & Junior Recital — Frankey Grayton II, percussion
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
12:30 p.m.
Celebrate Black History Month as percussionist and jazz studies major Frankey Grayton II presents his Junior Recital along with the Small Jazz Ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Allyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand — Jamal Brown
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
12:30 p.m.
Allyn Johnson invites flutist, composer, educator and UDC Jazz Ensemble alumnus, Jamal Brown for a session of conversation and performance.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Jazz Concert: Senior Recital — Samuel Munguia, piano
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
12:30 p.m.
Pianist, composer-arranger and jazz studies major Samuel Munguia presents his Senior Recital.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Jazz Concert: Senior Recital — Frankey Grayton II, percussion
Monday, April 9, 2018
7:00 p.m.
Percussionist and jazz studies major Frankey Grayton II presents his Senior Recital.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
JAZZforum — Karen Spellman and W.A. "Bill" Brower: Capital City Jazz Festival
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
7:00 p.m.
Join Karen Spellman and Bill Brower for a discussion on the historic Capital City Jazz Festival that they produced from 1985-1988. Veteran arts and civil rights activist Karen Spellman has a history of producing events specializing in large-scaled cultural and social justice programs. Jazz historian, writer and producer Bill Brower is a longtime concert and special event producer who has been involved in producing the CBCF Annual Legislative Conference Jazz Issue Forum and Concert since its inception.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Jazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
12:30 p.m.
Jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson celebrate Jazz Appreciation Month in a variety of flavors.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Jazz Concert: Senior Recital — LaMarione Shepard, vocalist
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
7:00 p.m.
Vocalist and jazz studies major LaMarione Shepard presents her Senior Recital.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Calvin Jones BIG BAND Jazz Festival
Monday, April 30, 2018
8:00 p.m.
The Calvin Jones BIG BAND Jazz Festival celebrates 32 years of world-class jazz at the University of the District of Columbia. The Big Band sound returns to UDC as the powerhouse jazz ensembles from the University of the District of Columbia (directed by Allyn Johnson), Howard University (directed by Fred Irby III) and the University of Maryland (directed by Chris Vadala) once again cap off Jazz Appreciation Month with a with a hand-clapping, finger-snapping, foot-stomping good time. Produced by UDC's Jazz Studies Program and the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, the festival began in 1987 as part of a citywide tribute to Duke Ellington, and it remains one of the most anticipated events on Washington, DC's jazz calendar. Scholarship Benefit Series.
UNIVERSITY AUDITORIUM (Theatre of the Arts—Bldg. 46-East).
Tickets are $20 (general admission), $15 (seniors), and $10 (students) and can be purchased in advance at the UDC Music Program, Performing Arts-Bldg. 46-West or online at InstantSeats.com.
Since 2005, the DC Jazz Festival organization has provided enriching and entertaining jazz performances and programs that introduce students and adults from all walks of life to jazz, our nation's singular original art form. The festival presents a selection of the jazz genre's most acclaimed artists as well as emerging artists, and provides enhanced exposure for the rich treasure trove of musicians from the Washington, DC area. Throughout the year, the DC Jazz Festival nourishes the community with free educational programs that extend our reach into underserved communities and enhance the quality of life for DC public and charter school students.
Tom Teasley — Drumming Through Time & Culture — Dedicated to Max Roach
Monday, June 11, 2018
7:00 p.m.
World percussionist, Tom Teasley performs solo and discusses how his concept of percussion has been shaped through his travels on behalf of the U.S. Department of State, national touring and multi media work in theater, film and sound design. He will mix playing styles, instruments and techniques from various cultures through the experience of an American jazz musician. He will also combine ancient instruments with the latest developments in music technology.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Allyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand — Paul Carr
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
7:00 p.m.
Join favorite pianist Allyn Johnson and acclaimed tenor saxophonist, recording artist and outstanding educator Paul Carr for a up-close and personal session of conversation and performance.
RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts—Bldg. 46-West)
Please note that all events, dates, and times listed are subject to change. Additional events may be scheduled throughout the year. Unless otherwise noted, all programs are FREE and OPEN to the public.
