Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives

Past Events Fall 2015-Spring 2016

  • Exhibition: Bringing Bossa Nova to the United StatesExhibition: Bringing Bossa Nova to the United States

    Exhibition:
    Open during the Learning Resources Division's hours

    For nearly fifty years, radio broadcaster Felix Grant was a familiar voice to Washington, D.C. jazz lovers. His early interest in and fascination with Brazilian culture and music played a pivotal role in introducing bossa nova to the United States. This exhibition includes photographs; concert programs; correspondence; awards; unique interviews of prominent artists such as Joao Gilberto, Leny Andrade, Sergio Mendes and Dorival Caymmi; and a digital collection, the Bossa Nova Project, which forms the basis for exhibits that may be accessed online. Together they provide a glimpse into Brazilian music of this period and its explosive impact on the American jazz scene.

    The exhibition returned to the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives after its debut as part of the critically acclaimed Jazz Samba Project at Strathmore.

    Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, Learning Resources Division
    University of the District of Columbia (Library-Bldg. 41, Level-A)
    4200 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

    Exhibition courtesy of the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives at the University of the District of Columbia. Curated by Judith A. Korey and Michael Fitzgerald, with exhibit designer Serdar Sirtanadolu.

SEPTEMBER 2015

  • JAZZforum: Herbie NicholsJAZZforum: Herbie Nichols

    Wednesday, September 16, 2015
    7:00 p.m.

    Jazz researcher Bertrand Uberall discusses the life and music of pianist Herbie Nichols, who labored in complete obscurity in his lifetime but whose highly original music was finally recognized long after his death (in 1963) by artists such as Roswell Rudd, Misha Mengelberg, Buell Neidlinger, Frank Kimbrough, Ben Allison and Ron Horton. The presentation will include elements of Herbie's biography, as well as an update on Bertrand's ongoing project to create a complete inventory of all of Nichols' known compositions.

    In addition, saxophonist Brad Linde and other musicians will discuss the challenges of arranging Herbie's music, and what makes his compositions so unique. This presentation is in conjunction with upcoming concerts of Nichols' music by Brad Linde at Bohemian Caverns and the U.S. Army Blues Big Band (with arrangements by Mike Kramer and Dan Roberts) at the Smithsonian American Art Museum's Take 5! series. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • Meet the Artist on the Bandstand: Steve NovoselAllyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand--STEVE NOVOSEL

    Tuesday, September 22, 2015
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson curates a new JAZZAlive series, Meet the Artist on the Bandstand. Allyn kicks off the series with legendary bassist Steve Novosel. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

OCTOBER

  • UDC Small Jazz Ensemble ConcertJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles

    Tuesday, October 6, 2015
    12:30 p.m.

    Jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson serve up an afternoon of original arrangements and compositions for your lunch hour enjoyment. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • JAZZforum: Robert Bobby Felder Part 2JAZZforum: Robert "Bobby" Felder - Part 2

    Wednesday, October 21, 2015
    7:00 p.m.

    Musician and educator Robert "Bobby" Felder has been a prominent figure in the Washington, D.C. music scene for many years. He was a guest on JAZZforum in 2013 and shared his early experiences as a performer, arranger and music educator. Felder will continue the discussion with writer and producer WA Brower and talk about his 23-year tenure as Director of Instrumental Music at the University of the District of Columbia where he played a key role in the establishment of the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives. Felder, who has had a long career working with some of D.C.'s top jazz musicians, will also speak about his current projects.

    Jazz historian, writer and producer WA Brower is senior partner and co-founder of JVC Production and a longtime concert and special event producer. A former staffer for Congressman John Conyers, Jr., Brower has been involved in producing the CBCF Annual Legislative Conference Jazz Issue Forum and Concert since its inception in 1985. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • Meet the Artist on the BandstandAllyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand--REGINALD CYNTJE

    Tuesday, October 27, 2015
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson curates a JAZZAlive series, Meet the Artist on the Bandstand featuring trombonist Reginald Cyntje. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

NOVEMBER

  • Jordon DixonJazz Concert: Junior Recital - Jordon Dixon, tenor saxophone

    Tuesday, November 10, 2015
    12:30 p.m.

    The soulful tenor saxophonist and UDC jazz studies major, Jordon Dixon presents his Junior Recital. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).

  • Donna Wells42nd Annual Conference on D.C. Historical Studies
    Panel: Donna M. Wells Memorial Session - Presenting ... The DC Sound!

    Saturday, November 14, 2015
    1:30 p.m.

    Panelists: Kelly Elaine Navies, DC Public Library | Sandra Butler-Truesdale, DC Legendary Musicians | Rusty Hassan, WPFW FM 89.3 | Judith Korey, Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives @UDC | Moderator: Ida Jones

    Registration: www.dchistory.org
    Historical Society of Washington, D.C.
    801 K Street NW at Mount Vernon Square, Washington, D.C. 20001

  • UDC Small Jazz Ensemble ConcertJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles

    Tuesday, November 17, 2015
    12:30 p.m.

    Join the jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson for our UDC Homecoming 2015 celebration. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

DECEMBER

  • Meet the Artist on the BandstandAllyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand--TOM TEASLEY

    Tuesday, December 1, 2015
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson curates a JAZZAlive series, Meet the Artist on the Bandstand featuring world-percussionist Tom Teasley. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • UDC Holiday ConcertAnnual Holiday Concert

    Thursday, December 10, 2015
    7:30 p.m.

    The University of the District of Columbia presents its annual holiday gift to the Washington, D.C. community. The UDC Chorale directed by Richard Odom, starts the evening with a program of choral music followed by the gospel sound of The Voices, directed by Gerry Gillespie. The UDC Jazz Ensemble directed by Allyn Johnson closes the program with big band jazz sure to spread the holiday spirit. University Auditorium - Theatre of the Arts (Bldg. 46-East).

FEBRUARY 2016

  • Meet the Artist on the BandstandMeet the Artist on the Bandstand -- Antonio Parker

    Tuesday, February 9, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson curates a JAZZAlive series, Meet the Artist on the Bandstand featuring saxophonist Antonio Parker. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • UDC Small Jazz Ensemble ConcertJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles

    Tuesday, February 23, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Join the jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson for our Black History Month celebration. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

MARCH

  • Meet the Artist on the BandstandMeet the Artist on the Bandstand -- Doug Pierce

    Tuesday, March 1, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson curates a JAZZAlive series, Meet the Artist on the Bandstand featuring trumpeter and composer/arranger Doug Pierce. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • JAZZforumJAZZforum: ZEV FELDMAN

    Wednesday, March 9, 2016
    7:00 p.m.

    Zev Feldman, Executive Vice President and General Manager of Resonance Records will discuss the new release Larry Young - In Paris: the ORTF Recordings and other Resonance projects. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

APRIL - JAM 2016 (Jazz Appreciation Month)@UDC

Jazz Appreciation Month logo

  • Meet the Artist on the BandstandMeet the Artist on the Bandstand -- DeAndre Shaifer

    Tuesday, April 5, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson curates a JAZZAlive series, Meet the Artist on the Bandstand featuring trumpeter, producer and composer/arranger DeAndre Shaifer. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • Jordon DixonJazz Concert: Senior Recital - Jordon Dixon, tenor saxophone

    Wednesday, April 6, 2016
    7:30 p.m.

    The soulful tenor saxophonist and UDC jazz studies major, Jordon Dixon presents his Senior Recital. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).

  • Meet the Artist on the BandstandMeet the Artist in a Master Class -- Ralph Peterson

    Thursday, April 7, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Allyn Johnson invites Ralph Peterson, one of the most distinctive and recognizable drummers in jazz, to share his expertise as a master drummer and educator. Recital Hall (Performing Arts / Bldg. 46-West).

  • UDC Small Jazz Ensemble ConcertJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles

    Tuesday, April 12, 2016
    12:30 p.m.

    Jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson celebrate Jazz Appreciation Month in a variety of flavors. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).

  • Calvin Jones BIG BAND Jazz FestivalCalvin Jones BIG BAND Jazz Festival

    Monday, April 25, 2016
    8:00 p.m.

    The Calvin Jones BIG BAND Jazz Festival celebrates 30 years of world-class jazz at the University of the District of Columbia. The Big Band sound returns to UDC as the powerhouse jazz ensembles from the University of the District of Columbia (directed by Allyn Johnson), Howard University (directed by Fred Irby III) and the University of Maryland (directed by Chris Vadala) once again cap off Jazz Appreciation Month with a with a hand-clapping, finger-snapping, foot-stomping good time. Produced by UDC's Jazz Studies Program and the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, the festival began in 1987 as part of a citywide tribute to Duke Ellington, and it remains one of the most anticipated events on Washington, DC's jazz calendar. Scholarship Benefit Series. University Auditorium - Theatre of the Arts (Bldg. 46-East).

    Tickets are $20 (general admission), $15 (seniors), and $10 (students) and can be purchased in advance at the UDC Music Program, Building 46-West or online at InstantSeats.com.


  • Jazz at VN Celebrates International Jazz DayJazz at VN Celebrates International Jazz Day

    Saturday, April 30, 2016
    5:00 - 7:00 p.m.

    UDC's JAZZAlive and DC Jazz Festival join Van Ness Main Street and the Acacia Bistro & Wine Bar to celebrate International Jazz Day and kick-off Jazz at VN. The stellar UDC JAZZtet, featuring soulful tenor saxophonist Jordon Dixon, will launch this exciting Van Ness Main Street project as International Jazz Day celebrates its 5th anniversary with Washington, DC as the Global Host City. (Acacia Bistro & Wine Bar, 4340 Connecticut Avenue at Yuma St., NW)

JUNE 2016 - JAZZAlive at the DC Jazz Festival 2016

  • Antonio ParkerAllyn Johnson and Meet the Artist on the Bandstand -- Antonio Parker

    Thursday, June 09, 2016
    7:00 p.m.

    Join favorite pianist Allyn Johnson and fiery saxophonist Antonio Parker for an up close and personal session of conversation and performance. Recital Hall. (Performing Arts - Bldg. 46-West)

  • Charlie YoungJAZZAlive at UDC: Charlie Young w/Allyn Johnson and the UDC JAZZtet

    Wednesday, June 15, 2016
    7:00 p.m.

    Superb saxophonist and educator Charlie Young joins pianist Allyn Johnson and the UDC JAZZtet for a soul-stirring evening of jazz. The UDC JAZZtet includes DC favorites Steve Novosel (bass), DeAndre Shaifer (trumpet), Douglas Pierce (trumpet), Howard "Kingfish" Franklin (drums) and special guest - vocalist Sandra Y Johnson. University Auditorium (Theater of the Arts - Bldg. 46-East)

  • Exhibition: Bringing Bossa Nova to the United StatesExhibition: Bringing Bossa Nova to the United States

    Exhibition:
    Open during the Learning Resources Division's hours

    For nearly fifty years, radio broadcaster Felix Grant was a familiar voice to Washington, D.C. jazz lovers. His early interest in and fascination with Brazilian culture and music played a pivotal role in introducing bossa nova to the United States. This exhibition includes photographs; concert programs; correspondence; awards; unique interviews of prominent artists such as Joao Gilberto, Leny Andrade, Sergio Mendes and Dorival Caymmi; and a digital collection, the Bossa Nova Project, which forms the basis for exhibits that may be accessed online. Together they provide a glimpse into Brazilian music of this period and its explosive impact on the American jazz scene.