Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives

Past Events Fall 2014-Spring 2015

SEPTEMBER 2014

  • Bringing Bossa Nova to the United States Logo by Postacarda.comExhibition: Bringing Bossa Nova to the United States

    Opening Reception: Wednesday, September 10, 2014, 5:30-7:30pm
    Exhibition September 10 - December 12, 2014
    Open during the Learning Resources Division's hours

    The exhibition Bringing Bossa Nova to the United States returns to the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives after its debut as part of the critically acclaimed Jazz Samba Project at Strathmore.

    For nearly fifty years, radio broadcaster Felix Grant was a familiar voice to Washington, D.C. jazz lovers. His early interest in and fascination with Brazilian culture and music played a pivotal role in introducing bossa nova to the United States. This exhibition includes photographs; concert programs; correspondence; awards; unique interviews of prominent artists such as João Gilberto, Leny Andrade, Sergio Mendes and Dorival Caymmi; and a digital collection, the Bossa Nova Project, which forms the basis for exhibits that may be accessed online. Together they provide a glimpse into Brazilian music of this period and its explosive impact on the American jazz scene.

    Exhibition courtesy of the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives at the University of the District of Columbia. Curated by Judith A. Korey and Michael Fitzgerald, with Rachel Elwell and exhibit designer Serdar Sirtanadolu.

    Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, Learning Resources Division
    University of the District of Columbia (Library-Bldg. 41, Level-A)
    4200 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008


  • Warren Smith, percussionJAZZforum: Percussion Legend — Warren Smith

    Wednesday, September 17, 2014
    7:00 p.m.

    Warren Smith is a multi-faceted musician — a master percussionist, composer, educator and music activist whose career has covered a wide spectrum of performances, recordings and collaborations. In addition to his New York-based jazz composition and performance cooperative, the Composer's Workshop Ensemble, Smith was a founding member of Max Roach's percussion ensemble M'Boom and has worked with artists such as Miles Davis, Sam Rivers, Charles Mingus, Anthony Braxton, Andrew White, Nat King Cole and Aretha Franklin, to name a few.

    Smith is also an archivist with a rare collection of original scores and recordings of ensembles of his own and of fellow musicians and composers, particularly percussionists. He will discuss his extensive career, background, experiences and current projects. In a JazzTimes profile Lyn Horton writes: "His capacity to make music exceeds that of many modern masters in any part of the music world."

    This JAZZforum is presented in cooperation with Philanthropic Cultural Expressions, Inc. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • Allyn Johnson, pianoJAZZ Concert: Allyn Johnson, piano

    Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    12:30 p.m.

    Favorite pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson kicks off another season of JAZZAlive concerts with a solo performance. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

     

OCTOBER

  • UDC Small Jazz Ensembles ConcertJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles, dir. Allyn Johnson

    Tuesday, October 7, 2014
    12:30 p.m.

    Jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson serve up an afternoon of original arrangements and compositions for your lunch hour enjoyment. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).


  • JazzforumJAZZforum: Sun Ra in Century 21

    Wednesday, October 22, 2014
    7:00 p.m.

    Author Thomas Stanley's monograph, The Execution of Sun Ra, is an attempt to bore into the late jazz oracle's remarkable ideas about history and human development. Having declared time officially ended, Sun Ra circled the globe for a half-century with an unprecedented artistic sensibility that reconciled traditionalisms and futurisms through a trademark performance vessel he christened the Arkestra. Titled in homage to a Sun Ra pun on the double meaning of the English word execute, Dr. Stanley's work offers a vigorous intellectual response to Sun Ra's thickly layered take on the condition and fate of intelligent life on Earth

    Stanley teaches sound art and sonic culture at George Mason University and has previously coauthored an oral history of R&B revolutionaries Parliament/Funkadelic. With a well-sourced rhizomatic reading, Stanley explores Sun Ra's work as big band leader and architect of a history-altering participatory ritual that he called Myth Science. Join Thomas Stanley as he riffs on Sun Ra's extraordinary life and work. Books will be available. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

NOVEMBER

  • UDC Small Jazz Ensembles ConcertJazz Concert: 'Music at Van Ness'

    Thursday, November 13, 2014
    5:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.

    UDC's JAZZAlive joins the Van Ness Vision Committee and Acacia Bistro to kick off 'Music at Van Ness' with the UDC JAZZtet serving up a happy hour of jazz in a variety of flavors. Acacia Bistro (4340 Connecticut Ave. at Yuma)

  • UDC Small Jazz Ensembles ConcertJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles, dir. Allyn Johnson

    Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    12:30 p.m.

    Join the jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson for our Thanksgiving celebration. Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • JAZZforum: 7th & T documentaryJAZZforum: Film Screening '7th & T' Documentary with Rusty Hassan

    Wednesday, November 19, 2014
    7:00 p.m.

    Join WPFW broadcaster and jazz historian Rusty Hassan for a screening of "7th & T"-David Herman's 1987 award winning documentary about one of Washington's most culturally vibrant neighborhoods. Rusty Hassan has been described by author and jazz journalist, Willard Jenkins as "...one of the warmest, most knowledgeable interviewers in jazz radio... one of those cornerstones of the jazz cognoscenti in the DC area." Recital Hall (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

DECEMBER

  • UDC Annual Holiday ConcertAnnual Holiday Concert: UDC Chorale, The Voices, UDC Jazz Ensemble

    Thursday, December 11, 2014
    7:30 p.m.

    The University of the District of Columbia presents its annual holiday gift to the Washington, D.C. community. The UDC Chorale directed by Richard Odom, starts the evening with a program of choral music followed by the gospel sound of The Voices, directed by Gerry Gillespie. The UDC Jazz Ensemble directed by Allyn Johnson closes the program with big band jazz sure to spread the holiday spirit. University Auditorium — Theatre of the Arts (Bldg. 46-East).

FEBRUARY 2015

  • UDC Small Jazz EnsemblesJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles, dir. Allyn Johnson

    Tuesday, February 24, 2015
    12:30 p.m.

    Join the jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson for our Black History Month celebration. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

MARCH

  • Howard JAZZAlive in the Community - Howard "Kingfish" Franklin, Jr.

    Tuesday, March 17, 2015
    Shows: 7:00 & 9:00pm artist in residence in March

    Jazzies D.C.'s 2014 Best Drummer of the Year and UDC Jazz studies graduate Howard "Kingfish" Franklin is Artist in Residence at the Bohemian Caverns for month of March. Several of his UDC family of musicians including pianist Allyn Johnson and special guest, saxophonist Bruce Williams, will share the stage for a UDC Spring-Break night out.
    Bohemian Caverns
    2001 Eleventh Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
    Ticket Info: 202.299.0800 | www.bohemiancaverns.com

  • JazzforumJAZZforum: International Sweethearts of Rhythm

    Monday, March 23, 2015
    7:00 p.m.

    Joann Stevens, communications strategist and former program director of Jazz Appreciation Month, discusses history and legacy of the nation's first integrated, female big band. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).


  • JazzforumJazz Concert: Allyn Johnson Trio

    Tuesday, March 31, 2015
    12:30 p.m.

    Pianist and UDC Jazz Studies Director Allyn Johnson serves up a prelude to Jazz Appreciation Month. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).




  •  
  •  

APRIL - JAM 2015 (Jazz Appreciation Month)@UDC

Jazz Appreciation Month logo

 

  • Jazzforum: Shirley HornJAZZforum: A Celebration of the Life and Music of Shirley Horn

    Monday, April 13, 2015
    7:00 p.m.

    Daughter Rainy Smith will share insights both personal and professional and provide a rare perspective on the remarkable career of one of Washington, DC's premier musicians—Shirley Horn (1934-2005). The 1998 Grammy Award winner for Best Jazz Vocal Performance and 2005 National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Master was known for her unique style as singer and pianist. Her many recordings and performances established her as a world-class artist whose roots, however, were firmly grounded in Washington, DC. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • UDC Small Jazz Ensembles ConcertJazz Concert: UDC Small Jazz Ensembles, dir. Allyn Johnson

    Tuesday, April 14, 2015
    12:30 p.m.

    Jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson celebrate Jazz Appreciation Month in a variety of flavors. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).

  • Jon Lewis Senior RecitalSenior Recital: Jon Lewis, percussion

    Thursday, April 23, 2015
    7:00 p.m.

    UDC Jazz Ensemble percussionist Jon Lewis presents his Senior Recital. RECITAL HALL (Performing Arts Bldg. 46-West).


  • Calvin Jones Big Band Jazz FestivalCalvin Jones BIG BAND Jazz Festival

    Monday, April 27, 2015
    8:00 p.m.

    The Calvin Jones BIG BAND Jazz Festival celebrates 29 years of world-class jazz at the University of the District of Columbia. The Big Band sound returns to UDC as the powerhouse jazz ensembles from the University of the District of Columbia (directed by Allyn Johnson), Howard University (directed by Fred Irby III) and the University of Maryland (directed by Chris Vadala) once again cap off Jazz Appreciation Month with a with a hand-clapping, finger-snapping, foot-stomping good time. Produced by UDC's Jazz Studies Program and the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, the festival began in 1987 as part of a citywide tribute to Duke Ellington, and it remains one of the most anticipated events on Washington, DC's jazz calendar. Scholarship Benefit Series. University Auditorium — Theatre of the Arts (Bldg. 46-East).

 

Tickets are $20 (general admission), $15 (seniors), and $10 (students) and can be purchased in advance at the UDC Music Program, Building 46-West or online at InstantSeats.com.

JUNE - JAZZAlive at the DC Jazz Festival

DC Jazz Festival | www.dcjazzfest.org

Since 2005, the DC Jazz Festival organization has provided enriching and entertaining jazz performances and programs that introduce students and adults from all walks of life to jazz, our nation's singular original art form. The festival presents a selection of the jazz genre's most acclaimed artists as well as emerging artists, and provides enhanced exposure for the rich treasure trove of musicians from the Washington, DC area.

Jazz in the 'Hoods | www.dcjazzfest.org

Jazz in the 'Hoods, presented by Events DC, is a major feature of the DC Jazz Festival and is an exciting partnership with local venues in celebration of jazz in our nation's capital. Jazz in the 'Hoods takes place in over 40 venues with more than 80 performances in 21 neighborhoods around the city.

  • Howard JAZZforum: Muneer Nasser - UpWrite Bass: The Musical Life and Legacy of Jamil Nasser

    June 9, 2015
    7:00 p.m.

    Author and musician Muneer Nasser discusses his memoir of his father Jamil Nasser - the great bassist, jazz advocate and educator with WPFW broadcaster and jazz historian Rusty Hassan. Recital Hall (Performing Arts-Bldg. 46-West)

  • Howard JAZZAlive in the 'Hood: Bruce Williams with Allyn Johnson and the UDC JAZZtet

    June 15, 2015
    7:00 p.m.

    Saxophonist and recording artist Bruce Williams joins pianist Allyn Johnson and the UDC JAZZtet for evening of soul-stirring jazz. The UDC JAZZtet includes DC favorites Steve Novosel (bass), DeAndre Shaifer (trumpet), Douglas Pierce (trumpet), Howard "Kingfish" Franklin (drums) and special guest - vocalist Sandra Y Johnson.
    UDC Amphitheatre (Connecticut Avenue & Windom Place, NW)
    Rain Site:
    (University Auditorium-Theatre of the Arts, Bldg. 46-East)

  • Bringing Bossa Nova to the United States Logo by Postacarda.comExhibition: Bringing Bossa Nova to the United States

    Exhibition thru December 2015
    Open during the Learning Resources Division's hours

    For nearly fifty years, radio broadcaster Felix Grant was a familiar voice to Washington, D.C. jazz lovers. His early interest in and fascination with Brazilian culture and music played a pivotal role in introducing bossa nova to the United States. This exhibition includes photographs; concert programs; correspondence; awards; unique interviews of prominent artists such as Joao Gilberto, Leny Andrade, Sergio Mendes and Dorival Caymmi; and a digital collection, the Bossa Nova Project, which forms the basis for exhibits that may be accessed online. Together they provide a glimpse into Brazilian music of this period and its explosive impact on the American jazz scene.