Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives

Past Events Fall 2010-Spring 2011

FEBRUARY 2011

  • Logo for the series: Icons Among Us. Periodic table of jazz musicians. FILM SCREENING—ICONS AMONG US: Jazz In The Present Tense —Episode One: The Quiet Revolution

    Wednesday, February 2, 2011
    7:00 PM

    ICONS AMONG US: Jazz In The Present Tense examines the world of contemporary jazz looking at today's brightest talent. The Quiet Revolution explores the contemporary jazz scene through live footage and interviews with musicians such as Herbie Hancock, Terence Blanchard, Nicholas Payton, Wynton Marsalis, Dave Douglas, Robert Glasper, Jason Moran, Avishai Cohen, Bill Frisell, Matthew Shipp and Greg Osby. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).

  • Photograph of saxophonist's hand and the bell of a saxophone.UDC Small Jazz Ensembles

    Tuesday, February 15, 2011
    12:30 PM

    Join the jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson for our Black History Month celebration. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).

MARCH

 

  • Photograph of Sandra Y. Johnson, jazz vocalist. Sandra Y. Johnson Concert & CD Release

    Monday, March 14, 2011
    7:30 PM

    Join us for an evening of jazz and blues from Sandra Y. Johnson's new CD, "What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?" and her debut CD, "Steppin' Out." Joined by Allyn Johnson on piano, Steve Novosel on bass, Nasar Abadey on drums, and Lyle Link on saxophone and flute, the evening promises to be a fun-filled evening. The concert will be followed by a CD signing. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).

  • Photograph of Butch Warren by Roberto PolilloJAZZforum: Antoine Sanfuentes, Natasha Lebedeva and Bertrand Überall with special guest Butch Warren: Butch's Blues—The Life and Music of Edward 'Butch' Warren

    Wednesday, March 16, 2011
    7:00 PM

    Antoine Sanfuentes, Natasha Lebedeva, Bertrand Überall and special guest Edward 'Butch' Warren will discuss the life and career of one of Washington's own. Butch Warren was the bassist on many legendary Blue Note recordings as well as with the Thelonious Monk quartet from 1963-1964. Years researching Warren's life have yielded rare photographs and audio from the Warren family collection. This presentation will include a screening of Butch's Blues. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).

  • Congressional Black Caucus Foundation logo JAZZforum: W.A. Brower and Cedric Hendricks: Twenty-Five Years of the CBCF ALC Jazz Issue Forum and Concert

    Wednesday, March 30, 2011
    7:00 PM

    Show Producer W.A. Brower and Executive Producer Cedric Hendricks give a retrospective of 25 years of the Jazz Issue Forum and Concert at the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation's Annual Legislative Conference . Brower and Hendricks reveal the story behind and evaluate the impact of H. Con. Resolution 57, which designated Jazz "as a rare and valuable national American treasure." They discuss a quarter century of jazz talk, thought and performance that has included such figures as Geri Allen, Dr. David Baker, Marcus Belgrave, Regina Carter, Ron Carter, Jimmy Cobb, Cong. John Conyers, Dizzy Gillespie, Count Basie, Andy Bey, Lionel Hampton, Buck Hill, Roy Haynes, Willard Jenkins, Elvin Jones, Hank Jones, Branford Marsalis, Ellis Marsalis, Wynton Marsalis, MJQ, Jimmy Owens, Dr. Larry Ridley, Wallace Roney, SJMO, A.B. Spellman, Dr. Billy Taylor, Andrew White, Cassandra Wilson, Gerald Wilson, Nancy Wilson and many others. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).

APRIL

Paul Anthony (Part 1) - Out of the Past - 2010 from Chuck Langdon on Vimeo.

  • Leon Rawlings, trombone. Junior Recital: Leon Rawlings, trombone

    Tuesday, April 5, 2011
    12:30 PM

    Trombonist and Jazz Studies major, Leon Rawlings presents his junior recital. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).


  • Randy Weston from the cover of his autobiography: African Rhythms: The Autobiography of Randy Weston.JAZZforum: Dr. Randy Weston and Willard Jenkins on African Rhythms: The Autobiography of Randy Weston

    Thursday, April 7, 2011
    7:00 PM

    NEA Jazz Master, Dr. Randy Weston and jazz author and journalist Willard Jenkins on the subject of African Rhythms: The Autobiography of Randy Weston. (Composed by Randy Weston, Arranged by Willard Jenkins: Duke University Press, 2010). Book signing will precede and follow presentation. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).

  • Photograph of vocalist with microphone. UDC Small Jazz Ensembles

    Tuesday, April 12, 2011
    12:30 PM

    Jazz ensembles under the direction of Allyn Johnson celebrate Jazz Appreciation Month in a variety of flavors. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).


  • Radio personality and host of Jazz Unlimited Paul Anthony. JAZZforum: Paul Anthony

    Wednesday, April 13, 2011
    7:00 PM

    Jazz music specialist and veteran radio broadcaster Paul Anthony discusses his life and career. A familiar voice to Washington, D.C. listeners for over 45 years, Mr. Anthony produced shows devoted to jazz for radio station WRC in Washington, DC (1966 to 1972); National Public Radio (1972 to 1979); for radio station WGMS in Washington, DC (1980 to 1990); and for SIRIUS Satellite Radio's Pure Jazz 72. His extensive television announcing includes the programs "Washington Week" and "America's Most Wanted," in addition to many PBS-TV and Discovery Channel programs. Mr. Anthony donated a major collection to the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives in 2006. The "Paul Anthony Collection" contains more than 5,100 LP records, almost entirely of American jazz artists of the mid- to late- 20th century. Recital Hall (Bldg. 46-West).

  • Calvin Jones BIG BAND Jazz Festival logo. Calvin Jones Big Band Jazz Festival

    Monday, April 25, 2011
    8:00 PM

    The Calvin Jones Big Band Jazz Festival celebrates 25 years of world-class jazz at the University of the District of Columbia. The Big Band sound returns to UDC for a remarkable 25th anniversary as the powerhouse jazz ensembles from the University of the District of Columbia (directed by Allyn Johnson), Howard University (directed by Fred Irby III) and the University of Maryland (directed by Chris Vadala) once again cap off Jazz Appreciation Month with a with a hand-clapping, finger-snapping, foot-stomping good time. Produced by UDC's Jazz Studies Program and the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, the festival began in 1987 as part of a city-wide tribute to Duke Ellington, and it remains one of the most anticipated events on Washington, DC's jazz calendar. Congressman John Conyers, Jr., the distinguished advocate for jazz and architect of H.CON.RES 57 legislation designating jazz as a national treasure, will serve as Honorary Chair for this year's festival. Scholarship Benefit Series. University Auditorium (Bldg. 46-East).

    Tickets are $20 (general admission), $15 (seniors), and $10 (students) and can be purchased in advance at the UDC Music Program, Building 46-West or online at InstantSeats.com.