Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives

Access and Use Policies

In general, the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives follows the rules and policies of the UDC Learning Resources Division but has established additional procedures to govern the use of materials in the collections. In the interest of preserving and protecting the special collections of the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, we ask that the following procedures be observed.

  • The recordings, books, and archival collections of the Felix E. Grant Archives are non-circulating. They must be consulted on-site during the archives hours of operation.
  • The archival area houses a limited number of listening stations, areas for permanent and rotating displays of materials from the collection, memorabilia, books, photographs, and a closed stack area of recordings. Many of these items are fragile; articles should not be handled or removed without permission from the archives staff.
  • As the collections are processed, materials are shelved, boxed and filed in accordance with archival practice in the closed stack area and archives control room. Items are located and retrieved by archives staff for examination by the user.
  • For security reasons, all persons entering the archival area are required to present identification. When work is completed, materials are to be returned to a staff member, who will confirm the condition and order of the materials.
  • Only pencil, paper, laptop computers, and reference materials may be used in the archival area. Pens are not allowed due to the risk they pose to rare items and reference materials. No other personal effects will be allowed in the archival area.
  • Permission to quote, cite or refer to materials from the archives must be obtained from the curator. In addition, researchers may quote, cite or refer to materials only as allowed under the provisions of the United States Copyright laws.
  • Copyright laws governing the unauthorized duplication of materials are strictly followed.
  • Beverages or food may not be brought into the archives.