Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide presents recommended resources for UDC's Early Childhood Education program.
Below is a short list of journals that cover the area of early childhood education. If there is an article you are interested in that is not freely available through UDC library resources, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. If you have questions on how to do this, contact a librarian.
Recommended Web Resources
Resources for Praxis Exams
The Prepare for Teaching Exams section of the Career Preparation database offers study resources for Praxis Core Tests and Praxis Subject Assessments.
UDC belongs to the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC).
The nine member libraries share circulating materials with each other and have a common library catalog.
You can use the catalog to look for materials in all of the libraries' collections at one time, or you can limit your search to any one of the libraries.
The "Search Everything" feature of UDC Search includes all print resources held by the libraries of the nine WRLC institutions as well as the electronic resources available to UDC students, faculty, and staff.
Related Research Guides
The following UDC Library research guides are related to early childhood education and may provide additional useful information.
Do you see something missing from this guide? Let us know!
The library is always open to adding missing content to our guides. We are happy to add new links, information, and resources you may be aware of. Please email us at email@example.com to share any links or information you would like to see us include.
We have created several Help Guides to help you navigate using library and information resources and tools. These guides are designed to walk you through finding what you need while offering tips, tricks, and other useful information.
You can see a full list of our subject guides in our Index of Research Guides.
ProQuest Education Journals offers complete information on hundreds of educational topics and gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.
Education Magazine Archive
Archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and chart the evolution of educational policy, practice and theory.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
ERIC is published by the U.S. Department of Education. It is the largest education database in the world.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this database provides a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Searches full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics.
Teacher Reference Center
This database indexes over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. It provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
A - Z of Inclusion in Early Childhood by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The key themes in inclusion are explored through an A - Z approach, covering key concepts, theories / theorists, and figures.
Beginning Essentials in Early Childhood Education by
Call Number: Reserve LB1139.23 .G6627 2016
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
A streamlined foundations book that introduces early childhood students to the field. This unique book is organized to answer four key questions: What is the field? Who is the child? Who is the teacher? and What is being taught? The four sections address the essentials of early childhood education, emphasizing multiculturalism and developmentally appropriate practice.
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2014-04-10
This encyclopedia is a reference work about young children in the USA, designed for use by policy makers, community planners, parents of young children, teacher and early childhood educators, program and school administrators, among others.
Perspectives and Provocations in Early Childhood Education by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Mandates to implement practices that are antithetical to what we embrace as supportive of young children's literacy learning are pervasive. Teachers of young children are asked to teach-to-the test in ways that take away opportunities for holistic, thoughtful, play-oriented practices that allow children to construct knowledge through contextualized and purposeful experiences. This publication is intended to support teachers of young children and those interested in studying about early literacy by putting on offer texts with a strong emphasis on promoting thoughtful practices that enhance the teaching and learning of young children within and across diverse communities.
Strategies for Including Children with Special Needs in Early Childhood Settings by
Call Number: LC4019.3 .C67 2018
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
This practical, hands-on-guide encompasses workable ideas on how to include and support young children with disabilities in all preschool classrooms. Teaching strategies and adaptations are offered by program activity rather than by disability, so you can more easily coordinate adaptations to each part of your lesson plan. The main focus is on embedding instruction within daily routines.
Understanding How Young Children Learn: Bringing the Science of Child Development to the Classroom by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
This book builds on developmental science research and shows you how to harness the power of the brain, the most powerful learning machine in the universe. The author highlights the processes that inspire or propel learning play, confidence, self-regulation, movement, mnemonic strategies, metacognition, articulation, and collaboration and distills the research into a synthesis of the most important takeaway ideas that teachers will need as they design their curriculum and pedagogy.
Browse the Stacks
If you want to browse the stacks for books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.
LB 1025-1050.75 – Teaching (principles and practice)
LB 1101-1139 – Child study
LB 1139.2-1139.5 – Early childhood education
LB 1140-1140.5 – Preschool education