News & Events

Local Libraries We Love

DC is a great city. One of the reasons we love it so much is because of all the great libraries. Here are some of our favorites.

• DC Public Library - There are two dozen branches around the city and all UDC students and faculty are entitled to a card which also provides access to their online resources. You have access to all their in-person and online resources. You can find everything from popular bestsellers to historical newspapers. Plus, DCPL has great programs. They also offer reservable private study rooms.
• The Library of Congress - The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world and is the oldest cultural institution in the United States. Anyone age 16 and over with a valid ID can get a reader identification card. All material must be used on site. There are also many valuable digital collections. Plus, the Library provides numerous exhibits and has one of the most beautiful reading rooms in the world.
• DC History Center - The DC History Center serves the city, its residents and visitors as an educational institution that promotes knowledge of the past for better understanding of the future. The Center collects, preserves and shares the rich history of our nation's capital. You will need to make an appointment to use the research materials.
• The National Archives - Both a museum and a library, the National Archives is the nation's record keeper. They preserve and make available the documents and business of the United States federal government. Located next to the Mall, you can peruse the current exhibits or schedule an appointment to use the research collections.
• The Smithsonian Institution Libraries - Most of the individual Smithsonian museums have libraries - there are 21 libraries spread across the city. You can see collections covering aviation, space, art, history, science, culture, and more. These libraries are a hidden treasure that help researchers and students gain access to specialized collections.
• Folger Shakespeare Library - Located on Capitol Hill, this library has the world's largest Shakespeare collection. It provides an array of resources from original manuscripts to modern interpretations. It specializes in Renaissance materials. There is a theater on site which hosts wonderful productions and events every year.
• National Geographic Society Library and Archives - You may know the famous magazine, but did you know National Geographic has a museum, library, and archive only a few blocks from the White House? This library hosts all the materials that celebrate the history, heritage, and accomplishments of the National Geographic Society. The materials go back to the 1800s and includes books, e-books, periodicals, maps, photographs, and more.

Need even more libraries? Here is a great list of all the libraries in our area.