Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of the resources that the library buys for your use are accessible through the library's website. These materials include electronic books, article databases, and electronic journals. Electronic books and journals provide exactly the same information as their print forms. However, unlike their print counterparts you don't have to come to the library to use them -- you can access them anywhere you have an internet connection.
When you access any of the electronic materials from any place off the UDC campus, you will be prompted to log in, the same way you log in to MyUDC. Once logged in, you will be able to use the library resources without restriction.
This page will show you how to access and use online library materials.
UDC Search - Find Articles, Books, & more!
E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.
Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.
E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:
Books In Print
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.
The library's many databases help you find individual articles, media, e-books, and other items of information that are available from scholarly and reliable resources.
- The library buys many different article databases for you to use — to retrieve relevant results you need to pick an appropriate database to search.
- Databases are organized around a particular subject area (i.e., Nursing, Art and Architecture, Sociology, etc.) or are organized around an academic area (e.g., Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences).
- Some of the databases provide full-text access to all of the information indexed in the database and some provide a mix of citation and abstract information as well as full-text.
All of the databases can be used off-campus by logging in with your UDC credentials.
You can see the full list of the library's databases here:
A to Z Resource List
Comprehensive alphabetical list of subscription and free databases and collections, searchable by subject, vendor, and resource type.
Multimedia resources or databases are where you can find streaming video or audio content. These databases contain news clips, training videos, podcasts, audio stories, and other media content.
C-SPAN Video Library
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
The premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Online learning platform that provides comprehensive selection of academic and career-related resources. Includes these targeted learning centers: college success skills, core math and science skills review, core English skills review, career and workplace preparation, placement test preparation, ACT and SAT preparation, high school equivalency center, basic computer skills, and Spanish center. Features academic skill building, college placement test preparation, college and life skills tutorials, soft skills training, career advancement resources, professional licensing and certification test prep, basic computer skills training, and more.