Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are many websites on the internet that provide access to scholarly resources. This page provides links to list of resources that may be helpful; it is not a comprehensive list of scholarly websites, and not everything on these sites will necessarily be scholarly.
One of the main challenges in using internet sources for scholarly research is deciding if the material you've found can actually be deemed "scholarly." For more information on this process see our Critiquing Websites page.
To learn how you can use Google to effectively search for scholarly materials, see our Using Google Effectively page.
Digital Commons Network
A collection of free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Directory of Open Access Journals
An independent, community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Free Medical Journals
Hundreds of titles covering biology, cardiology, endocrinology, infectious diseases, genetics, microbiology, neurology, oncology, physiology, and more.
Google Scholar is another source for articles, including some unique articles you might not find anywhere else. However, articles on Google Scholar are not vetted as closely as articles available through UDC databases, so make sure to evaluate articles that you find on Google Scholar closely.
Provides digital access to millions of books, many of which were gathered from the largest research libraries in the United States and abroad. Not all content is available full-text due to copyright restrictions.
A not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.