Newsbank Access World News provides a combination of global, regional, and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (PDF image editions, web-only, full-text), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty.
Collection from Duke University contains more than 7,000 advertisements from print magazines and newspapers, published from the 1910s to the 1950s, primarily in the U.S. and Canada. Content focuses on five areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty/hygiene, and World War II.
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
More than 300 important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation?s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.
This award-winning digital library is the only resource to combine exclusively available play text content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.
Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. Complete with robust collections of videos and e-books, Ethnic Diversity Source creates a dynamic research experience for students and researchers.
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives, and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
With approximately 10 million photos accessible, the LIFE magazine archive is a rich resource for anyone seeking images relating to U.S. history and world events. Names of photographers and the dates that photos were taken are identified.
The Living Room Candidate presents video advertising for presidential candidates—Democrat, Republican, and significant third party, when applicable—from 1952 to the present. Accompanying descriptive matter places the ads in context. Transcripts of the ads are included, along with full credits and production information. Numerous commercials are available for each election year, plus text overviews of campaign years, information on party nominees, and election results.
Fully searchable and well organized, the database not only contains publications about broadcasting, but also of the related fields of advertising, media buying, media research, and cable. Visitors to the site will also find music magazines, network and station publications, FCC regulations and decisions, fan magazines, radio enthusiast magazines, technical manuals, programming guides, and more. There are parallel, but smaller collections of publications from 10 other countries and Latin America.
