Skip to Main Content
Home About Us Research & Find Services Faculty FAQs Contact Us
  • My Library Account

    • News & Events

    Round Up: Women's History Month

    by Meghan Kowalski on 2024-03-20T08:00:00-04:00 | 0 Comments

    In recognition of Women's History Month, we've put together a diverse collection of resources that spotlight the stories, experiences, and accomplishments of women from all walks of life. Whether you're seeking inspiration, knowledge, or simply a deeper understanding of women's impact on society, these resources offer valuable insights and perspectives.

     

    Library Databases

    • African American Women Writers of the 19th Century - A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920. A full text database of these 19th and early 20th- century titles, this digital library is keyword-searchable.
    • Iowa Women's Archives Digital Collections - Featured on this site are thousands of digital objects from the Iowa Women's Archives, which collects, preserves, and makes available primary source materials on the women of Iowa. The digital collections include historic photographs, diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, printed ephemera, and oral history interviews by and about women politicians, activists, writers, homemakers, students, and many others.
    • Political Posters, Labadie Collection, University of Michigan - This database consists of images of those posters covering social protest movements such as Anarchism, Civil Liberties, Colonialism, Communism, Ecology, Labor, Pacifism, Sexual Freedom, Socialism, Women, and Youth/Student Protest. Some are from the first half of the 20th century, but the majority are from the 1960s and later.

     

    Books

    Cover ArtFeminist Theory by Bell Hooks
    In this beautifully written and carefully argued work, hooks maintains that mainstream feminism's reliance on white, middle-class, and professional spokeswomen obscures the involvement, leadership, and centrality of women of colour and poor women in the movement for women's liberation. hooks argues that feminism's goal of seeking credibility and acceptance on already existing ground - rather than demanding the lasting and more fundamental transformation of society - has shortchanged the movement. A sweeping examination of the core issues of sexual politics, Feminist Theory argues that contemporary feminists must acknowledge the full complexity and diversity of women's experience to create a mass movement to end women's oppression.
     
     
    Cover ArtWomen's History 
    This fifth volume of the History of the Prairie West Series contains a broad range of articles spanning the 1870s to the present and examines the mostly unexplored place of women in the history of the Canada's Prairie Provinces. From "Spinsters Need Not Apply" to "Negotiating Sex: Gender in the Ukrainian Bloc Settlement," women's roles in politics, law, agriculture, labour, and journalism are explored to reveal a complex portrait of women struggling to find safety, have careers, raise children, and be themselves in an often harsh environment. Launched in 2008, the History of the Prairie West Series is comprised of the very best historical articles previously published in the scholarly journal Prairie Forum.
     
     
    Cover ArtGendered Domains 
    For over two centuries the notion that societies have been sharply divided into women's (private) and men's (public) spheres has been used both to describe and to prescribe social life. More recently, it has been applied and critiqued by feminist scholars as an explanation for women's oppression. Spanning a rich array of historical contexts--from medieval nunneries to Ottoman harems to Paris communes to electronics firms in today's Silicon Valley--the twenty essays collected here offer a pathbreaking reassessment of the significance of the concept of separate spheres. After a theoretical introduction by the editors, certain essays reexamine historians' definitions of public and private realms and show how the imposition of these categories often obscures the realities of power structures and the alterable nature of gender roles. Other chapters consider how the concept of separate domains has been used to control women's actions. Additional essays explore the limits of public/private distinctions, focusing on women's working lives, the role of the state in the family, and the ways in which women including Native North Americans, African-Americans in the birth control movement, and participants in the lesbian bar culture have themselves reshaped the model of separate spheres. Making available the best papers on the public/private theme delivered at the 1987 Berkshire Conference on the History of Women, Gendered Domains will be welcomed by anyone interested in women's studies, including historians, political scientists, feminist theorists, anthropologists, sociologists, and philosophers.
     
    Cover ArtReshaping Women's History Voices of Nontraditional Women Historians
    'Reshaping Women's History' is a collection of 18 essays written 'nontraditional' women historians, all of whom have won the prestigious Catherine Prelinger Award. The contributors reflect on connections among their lived experiences, their scholarship, the field of women's and gender history, and women's professional lives.
     
     
     
     
    Cover ArtU. S. Women's History
    In the 1970s, feminist slogans proclaimed "Sisterhood is powerful," and women's historians searched through the historical archives to recover stories of solidarity and sisterhood. However, as feminist scholars have started taking a more intersectional approach--acknowledging that no woman is simply defined by her gender and that affiliations like race, class, and sexual identity are often equally powerful--women's historians have begun to offer more varied and nuanced narratives. The ten original essays in U.S. Women's History represent a cross-section of current research in the field. Including work from both emerging and established scholars, this collection employs innovative approaches to study both the causes that have united American women and the conflicts that have divided them. Some essays uncover little-known aspects of women's history, while others offer a fresh take on familiar events and figures, from Rosa Parks to Take Back the Night marches. Spanning the antebellum era to the present day, these essays vividly convey the long histories and ongoing relevance of topics ranging from women's immigration to incarceration, from acts of cross-dressing to the activism of feminist mothers. This volume thus not only untangles the threads of the sisterhood mythos, it weaves them into a multi-textured and multi-hued tapestry that reflects the breadth and diversity of U.S. women's history.  
     

    Scholarly Journals

    Websites

    • Digital Feminist Archives - This archive offers a snapshot of feminist history in the 1960s and 1970s, the institutionalization of women’s centers and women’s studies as an academic discipline, and feminist struggles taking place at colleges and universities, in healthcare and social service centers, in political organizations and neighborhood meetings across the country.
    • Lesbian Herstory Archives - Digitized and digital resources from the Lesbian Herstory Archives, which exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities and serves to uncover and document herstory previously denied by patriarchal historians in the interests of the culture that they served.
    • National Women's History Museum - Founded in 1996, the National Women’s History Museum (NWHM) is an innovative museum dedicated to uncovering, interpreting, and celebrating women’s diverse contributions to society. A renowned leader in women’s history education, the Museum brings to life the countless untold stories of women throughout history, and serves as a space for all to inspire, experience, collaborate, and amplify women’s impact—past, present, and future. 
    • Women's History Network - The Women’s History Network is a national association and charity for the promotion of women’s history and the encouragement of everyone interested in women’s history.
    • National Archives: Women's History - Records in the National Archives document the great contributions that women have made to our nation. Learn about the history of women in the United States by exploring their stories through letters, photographs, film, and other primary sources.

     

    Podcasts

    • What Makes Us Stronger - What makes us resilient in times of crisis? And how does conflict and hardship shape who we are? What Makes Us Stronger features the voices of courageous women who’ve lived through unbelievably difficult times in countries like Afghanistan, Syria, and South Sudan, and explores how each of them took on new roles and found the strength to keep going.
    • Woman's Hour - Women's voices and women's lives - topical conversations to inform, challenge and inspire.
    • Intersectionality Matters - Intersectionality Matters! is a podcast hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw, an American civil rights advocate and a leading scholar of critical race theory.
    • The History Chicks - Beckett Graham and Susan Vollenweider: Two women. Half the population. Several thousand years of history. 
    • Womanica - Thinking back to our history classes growing up, we had one question: Where the ladies at? Enter, Womanica. In just 5 minutes a day, learn about different incredible women from throughout history. On Wonder Media Network’s award-winning podcast, we’re telling the stories of women you may or may not know—but definitely should.
    • Her Half of History - What the women were doing all that time?
    • What'shername - What’sHerName women’s history podcast is hosted and produced by academic sisters Dr. Katie Nelson and Olivia Meikle. Committed to reclaiming forgotten history, What’sHerName tells the stories of fascinating women you’ve never heard of (but should have). Through compelling interviews with guest historians, writers, and scholars, Olivia and Katie bring to life the “lost” women of history. Fascinating and funny, thought-provoking and thoughtful, What’sHerName restores women’s voices to the conversation.
    • Difficult Damsels - Difficult Damsels is an amateur podcast, brought to you by two ridiculous humans, that explores the difficult damsels throughout history who broke out of their preordained roles as meek and obedient to be their most authentic selves. Your hosts Rachel and Kat delve into what it means to be a difficult damsel and just how these women changed history only to be labeled witch, mad, crazy because they dared to rise against societal and patriarchal norms and change their world! 
    • Lady History - Lady History is the podcast where we cover the stories of the world’s most iconic women. From ladies who saved the day, to ladies who committed crime. From women who broke barriers, to women who built them
     Add a Comment

    0 Comments.

      Search this Blog


      Recent Posts


    Finals Week Tips
    Round Up: Financial Literacy
    Follow the Links

      Subscribe


    Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


      Archive


      Subjects


    Information Literacy
      Return to Blog
    This post is closed for further discussion.

    title
    Loading...

    ask@udc.libanswers.com

    202-274-6120

    Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube